Skip to main content

2023 Morgan Award Winners Announced

Posted by on Thursday, June 29, 2023 in Morgan Award, News & Events.

The Writing Studio celebrates undergraduate writing and all that undergraduate writers are capable of, and we congratulate the winners of the 2023 Henrietta Hickman Morgan Memorial Award for First-Year Writers!

Winners of the 2023 Henrietta Hickman Morgan Memorial Award for First-Year Writers

The purpose of this image is to announce and celebrate the winners of the 2023 Morgan Award for First-Year Writers1st Place

Megan McGrath

“Conspiracy and Contagion: The Place of Hajj Health Affairs in Trans-Imperial Relations”

2nd place

Elizabeth Grimm

“Aryan Jesus: The Vitiated Hero of Antisemitism”

3rd Place

Faisal Khreis

“An Analysis of the Role of Muslim Women in War”

Honorable Mention

Emma Williams

“Manufactured Dissonance: How Labor Drives A Wedge Between Man and Nature”

Thanks to all who entered their writing!

We want to offer a note of thanks, too, to all of the authors who entered their compositions for consideration in this year’s Morgan Award competition.

The 2023 Morgan Award selection committee reviewed over 90 submissions–essays, fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and more–by Vanderbilt’s first-year students.

After giving careful consideration to this body of work, the committee felt inspired by and grateful for the chance to see the fruits of our first-year students’ academic and creative labors as writers and thinkers. From this auspicious beginning, we sincerely hope that each and every one of you will continue to dare to grow as writers throughout the rest of your time at Vanderbilt.

To learn more, visit our page on the annual Morgan Award competition.

Tags: ,