Skip to main content

Henrietta Morgan Memorial Award

Have you written something you are proud of during your first year at Vanderbilt?

Submit it for the Henrietta Morgan Memorial Award!

2018 Winners Announced!

Deadline for submissions: Friday, April 6

A poster encouraging first-year students to submit their best work for the Morgan Award for First-Year Writers

Each year the Writing Studio conducts the competition for the Henrietta Hickman Morgan Memorial Award for first-year writers. Established by William Morgan in memory of his wife, the award goes to the first-year student who submits the best sample of original writing. The winning student’s name will appear in the commencement program.

Submissions need not have been written for a “W” class or for any class. There are no restrictions as to length, type of writing, or subject matter (although all submissions must be in English). Students may submit papers written as class assignments, or they may write papers especially for this contest. Poems, short stories, critical essays, research papers, articles of opinion, or expository essays are all acceptable. A student may not, however, submit more than two entries.

To be eligible, the student must be a currently enrolled member of the first-year class in the College of Arts and Science, Peabody College, the Blair School of Music, the School of Engineering, or the School of Nursing.The paper submitted must have been written during the student’s first year at Vanderbilt.

Each manuscript must be typed and double-spaced on paper of standard size. Each submission must have a title and must not contain the author’s name. Hard copies or electronic versions are acceptable, although both must be accompanied by a Morgan Award entry form 2018.

Three prizes will be awarded:a first prize of $200.00, a second prize of $150.00, and a third prize of $100.00. The entries will be judged by a committee of writing course instructors.

Entries should be submitted to Sarah Friddle in 1801 Edgehill Avenue, Suite 112 (open 8:30-5:00) or via email ( by Friday, April 6, 2018. Winners will be notified by the end of April.

Who’s won recently?

Visit our Gallery of recent Morgan Award Winners

Morgan Award winners 2014-2016
The Writing Studio proudly displays the names of Morgan Award winners on its wall. (Pictured here: Morgan Award Winners 2014-2016)