Skip to main content

First-Year Writers: Submit your work for the 2024 Henrietta Morgan Memorial Award! (Deadline: Friday, May 3, 2024)

Posted by on Wednesday, April 10, 2024 in All Events, Calendar, News & Events.

Each year the Writing Studio conducts the competition for the Henrietta Morgan Memorial Award for First-Year Writers.

This colorful flyer encourages first-year undergraduate students to submit their writing for the Morgan Award for First-Year Writers competition by the current year's May deadline.Established by William Morgan in memory of his wife, the award goes to the first-year student who submits the best sample of original writing.

In Spring 2024, the deadline for submissions is Friday, May 3, at 11:59 p.m.

What is the Morgan Award?

The Henrietta Morgan Memorial Award is an annual competition recognizing excellence in the writing of Vanderbilt’s first-year students. The award goes to the first-year student who submits the best sample of original writing. Poems, short stories, critical essays, research papers, articles of opinion, or expository essays are all acceptable. Students may submit up to two entries.

Three prizes will be awarded in all: a first prize of $200.00, a second prize of $150.00, and a third prize of $100.00.

How do I enter?

The full submission instructions, eligibility requirements, and a link to the required entry for in InfoReady can be found on the Writing Studio’s Morgan Award page.

Will you join our gallery of Morgan Award winners this year?

Wondering what winners wrote about in the past? Take a scroll through our Gallery of Recent Morgan Award Winners.

The Morgan Award competition is conducted by the Writing Studio, and entries will be judged by a committee of writing course instructors. Winners will be notified in June and announced on the Writing Studio’s website and the Writing Studio Facebook page.

Tags: ,