Skip to main content

2022 Morgan Award Winners Announced

Posted by on Thursday, July 7, 2022 in Morgan Award, News, News & Events.

The Writing Studio celebrates undergraduate writing and all that undergraduate writers are capable of, and we congratulate the winners of the 2022 Henrietta Hickman Morgan Memorial Award for First-Year Writers!

Winners of the 2022 Henrietta Hickman Morgan Memorial Award for First-Year Writers

The colorful image displays the 2022 Morgan Award 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners' names and the titles of their winning submissions.1st Prize

Ainsley Gill

“The Pen is in Her Hands”

2nd Prize

Alexis Nguyen

“Con Từ Đâu” (poem)

3rd Prize (split)

Will Ford

“Defining the Ineffable: The Arbiter of ‘Americanism’ in a Cold War Climate”

Jadyn Miller

“Black Nationalism and the Illusion of Race in Relation to Non-Cartesian Sums and Du Bois”

Thanks to all who entered their writing!

We want to offer a note of thanks, too, to all of the authors who entered their compositions for consideration in this year’s Morgan Award competition.

The 2022 Morgan Award selection committee reviewed over 120 submissions–essays, fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and more–by Vanderbilt’s first-year students.

After giving careful consideration to this body of work, the committee felt inspired by and grateful for the chance to see the fruits of our first-year students’ academic and creative labors as writers and thinkers. From this auspicious beginning, we sincerely hope that each and every one of you will continue to dare to grow as writers throughout the rest of your time at Vanderbilt.

To learn more, visit our page on the annual Morgan Award competition.

Tags: , ,