Skip to main content

2021 Morgan Award Winners Announced!

Posted by on Sunday, August 1, 2021 in Morgan Award, News, News & Events.

The Writing Studio celebrates undergraduate writing and all that undergraduate writers are capable of, and we congratulate the winners of the 2021 Henrietta Hickman Morgan Memorial Award for First-Year Writers!

Winners of the 2021 Henrietta Hickman Morgan Memorial Award for First-Year Writers

1st Prize

Cameron Deal

“Defining an ‘American’ Classical Music: Intersections Between Argentina and the United States”

2nd Prize

Noah Ford

“The Apostasy of Our Oppressor”

3rd Prize

Jessica Peng

“Blood, Bone, Bruises: The Mind of Belle Gunness, Murderess”

Thanks to all who entered their writing!

We want to offer a note of thanks, too, to all of the authors who entered their compositions for consideration in this year’s Morgan Award competition.

The 2021 Morgan Award selection committee reviewed over 900 pages of writing by Vanderbilt’s first-year students, with submissions coming in an impressive array from essays, fiction, nonfiction, to poetry.

After the time they spent giving careful consideration to this body of work, the committee felt inspired by and grateful for chance to see the fruits of our first-year students’ academic and creative labors as writers and thinkers, and it found it challenging, as always, to single out just a few writers to spotlight with the award.

Learn more about the annual Morgan Award competition here.

This post originally published June 10, 2021.

Tags: , ,