Brightspace Content is Getting Upgraded
Beginning with the Fall 2027 semester, Brightspace courses will begin using the New Content Experience by default. Additionally, Instructors now have the ability to enable or disable the New Content Experience in their own courses ahead of the change in Fall 2027. For more information about this transition, see our New Content Experience Transition page.
Note: D2L (the company that makes Brightspace) has announced that the Classic Content view will be removed from Brightspace in 2029. After that point, all courses in Brightspace will use the New Content Experience. For more information on that announcement, read our news post here.
If you are building your course while you have students in the course, there may be some content you do not want them to view. This tutorial shows you two ways to keep content unavailable to students.
- Toggle visible/hidden in content
- Setting date and time restrictions on content
Updated Summer 2026
Toggle Visible/Hidden in Content
1. Under Content, find the module or item for you would like to change the visibility.
2. Once open, click the eyeball icon to toggle Visible:
or Hidden: 
New Content Experience

Classic Content

Setting Date and Time Restrictions on Content
New Content Experience
- Click the three dot Options icon for your content item
- Click Edit

- Click Availability Dates & Conditions
- Add a Start Date and/or End Date

- Click Save
Classic Content
- Click on the downward arrow next to your content’s title. Select Edit Properties in Place.

- Set the Start Date and End Date for content availability. You can also set Release Conditions here.

Note: A due date is not necessary for content items, but can be used in other areas of Brightspace. If the end date is later than the due date, this will allow for submissions that will be marked “late.”