Skip to main content

Harvie Branscomb Distinguished Professor Award

Call for nominations: November 8, 2023
Submission Deadline: December 18, 2023

The Harvie Branscomb Distinguished Professor Award is made to a full-time, regular faculty member without restriction as to age, rank, or school, for distinguished accomplishment in furthering the aims of Vanderbilt University.

The purpose of the award should be to recognize, and thereby to encourage in others, that combination of talents and achievements that we identify as desirable in the University faculty member: creative scholarship, including accomplishment in the creative arts and artistic performance; stimulating and inspiring teaching that results in learning of a high order; and service to students, colleagues, the University at large, and society at large. The award should be made for the total contribution and not solely for notable accomplishment in any single or narrow aspect of University endeavor. Neither shall long service nor promise of future accomplishment be a prime factor in the selection.

The award was established in 1963 to honor retiring Chancellor Harvie Branscomb. It is endowed with funds contributed by members of the faculty. The winner receives a cash award, an engraved silver tray, and an official designation as Harvie Branscomb Distinguished Professor for one academic year. The announcement is made at the Spring Faculty Assembly.

Members of the faculty are invited to submit nominations to the Faculty Senate. The Faculty Senate Consultative Committee reviews the nominations and makes recommendations to the Provost. The final selection is made by the Chancellor in consultation with the Provost.

Nominations will be accepted through InfoReady. Please contact Stacey Andrews ( with any questions.

Previous Winners

  • 2023 Randolph Blake (Psychology)
  • 2022 Jennifer Pietenpol (Biochemistry)
  • 2021 Edward Fischer (Anthropology)
  • 2020 Christopher Slobogin (Law, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences)
  • 2019 Benoit Dawant (Electrical Engineering and Computer Science)
  • 2018 Kate Daniels (English)
  • 2017 George M. Hornberger, (Civil & Environmental Engineering)
  • 2016 Lorraine M. Lopez (English)
  • 2015 Keivan G. Stassun (Physics and Astronomy)
  • 2014 Jay Clayton (English)
  • 2013 Donna Ford (Special Education)
  • 2012 Suzanna Sherry (Law)
  • 2011 David Jon Furbish (Earth and Environmental Sciences)
  • 2010 William Schaffner (Medicine)
  • 2009  Ronald D. Schrimpf (Electrical Engineering and Computer Science)
  • 2008 Daniel B. Cornfield (Sociology)
  • 2007 Cecelia Tichi (English)
  • 2006 Elaine Sanders-Bush (Pharmacology)
  • 2005 Harold L. Moses (Medicine)
  • 2004 Robert S. Dittus (Medicine)
  • 2003 John A. Phillips III (Pediatrics)
  • 2002 Thomas R. Harris (Biomedical Engineering)
  • 2001 Ann P. Kaiser (Special Education)
  • 2000  Lawrence J. Marnett (Biochemistry)
  • 1999  Travis I. Thompson (Psychology)
  • 1998 John Oates (Medicine)
  • 1997 Paul K. Conkin (History)
  • 1996 Robert D. Collins (Pathology)
  • 1995 Melvin D. Joesten (Chemistry)
  • 1994  Frank Parker (Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • 1993  Frank Chytil (Biochemistry)
  • 1992 Carolyn M. Evertson (Teaching and Learning)
  • 1991 Laurence Lerner (English)
  • 1990 David T. Karzon (Pediatrics)
  • 1989 Sallie McFague (Divinity)
  • 1988 Leon W. Cunningham (Biochemistry)
  • 1987 Alfred A. Baumeister (Psychology)
  • 1986 William C. Havard, Jr. (Political Science)
  • 1985 Hans H. Strupp (Psychology)
  • 1984 Mildred T. Stahlman (Pediatrics)
  • 1983 Joseph H. Hamilton (Physics and Astronomy)
  • 1982 Oscar Touster (Molecular Biology)
  • 1981 Douglas E. Leach (History)
  • 1980 Rendigs Fels (Political Science)
  • 1979  Grant W. Liddle (Medicine)
  • 1978 Sidney Colowick (Microbiology)
  • 1977 Walter Harrelson (Divinity)
  • 1976 John W. Wade (Law)
  • 1975 D. Stanley Tarbell (Chemistry)
  • 1974  Bjarni Jonsson (Mathematics)
  • 1973  William H. Nicholls (Economics)
  • 1972 Elliott V. Newman (Medicine)
  • 1971 Dewey Grantham, Jr. (History)
  • 1970 Charles F. Delzell (History)
  • 1969  James P. Hyatt (Divinity)
  • 1968 Charles R. Park (Physiology)
  • 1967 Nicholas Georgescu-Roegen (Economics)
  • 1966 Avery Leisersen (Political Science)
  • 1965  Willard B. Jewell (Geology)
  • 1964 Amos Christie (Pediatrics)