Skip to main content

CPT, OPT, & Academic Training Workshops

Posted by on Tuesday, January 2, 2018 in Uncategorized.

– Have you ever thought about working off campus or interning for a company in the United States?

– Did you know that it takes more than 90 days for an OPT application to be approved by the United States Customs and Immigration Services?

– Did you know that CPT employment counts all days including weekends, holidays, and travel outside the United States?

Attend the Curricular Practical Training (CPT) or Optional Practical Training (OPT) workshops and get the facts about how to apply for employment authorization. Questions such as ones listed above will be answered and information such as the example below you will learn by attending one of the OPT or CPT workshops this fall.  If you are an F-1 student, you have the option to apply for employment authorization to be used during or after your academic studies in the United States.

  • CPT and OPT are only for students who have a declared major in a degree-seeking program (bachelor’s, master’s, doctoral).
  • CPT is an academic experience which allows students to apply knowledge gained through coursework during their academic program in a work environment.
  • OPT is a 12-month employment authorization, related to a student’s field of study, that can be used during or after academic studies are complete.

Academic Training is for J-1 students who desire to gain work experience in their field of study.

If you have an interest to work off campus, please sign up for the following summer workshops. Attendance at a CPT and/or OPT or Academic Training workshop will now be required before applying for employment authorization. For those looking to begin OPT or CPT in the Fall 2017 semester, please plan to attend a workshop this summer. 

Spots are limited! Please RSVP on AnchorLink to guarantee your spot. 

CPT Workshops:

       **Sign in to AnchorLink to RSVP here.

Wednesday, May 9
5:30 PM – 6:30 PM
ISSS Lobby, 109 SLC

Monday, May 14
3:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Sarratt Room 363

Wednesday, June 13
3:30 PM – 4:30 PM
SLC LL room 3

Thursday, June 21
4:30 PM – 5:30 PM
SLC LL room 3

OPT Workshops For Bachelor’s, Master’s and Professional Students:

        **Sign in to AnchorLink to RSVP here

Wednesday, May 2
5:30 PM – 7:00 PM
ISSS Lobby, 109 SLC

Thursday, May 10
9:00 AM – 10:30 AM
SLC LL rooms 1 & 2

Friday, June 8
4:00 PM – 5:30 PM
SLC LL room 3

Monday, June 18
10:00 AM – 11:30 AM
Sarratt room 363

Tuesday, June 26
9:00 AM – 10:30 AM
SLC LL room 3

OPT Workshops For PhD Students:

Wednesday, May 16
5:30 PM – 7:00 PM
ISSS Lobby, 109 SLC

Thursday, June 7
1:00 PM – 2:30 PM
SLC LL room 3

Tuesday, June 19
9:00 – 10:30 AM
Sarratt room 363

Academic Training Workshops:

Tues, February 13
9:30 – 10:30 AM
SLC Lower Level room 3

Fri, March 16
4:00 – 5:00 PM
SLC Lower Level room 3

Mon, April 16
3:00 – 4:00 PM
SLC Lower Level room 3

Tags: