Skip to main content

Practical Training Workshops

Posted by on Tuesday, January 2, 2018 in Uncategorized.

During your academic program you may encounter situations where you are required or have the opportunity to participate in an off-campus practical experiences. In the context of F-1 and J-1 students and the federal regulations, this is defined as practical training. F-1 and J-1 students are required to have authorization to participate in practical training experiences. There are three main types of practical training authorization:

  • Curricular Practical Training (CPT): Benefit for F-1 students who are required or have the option to participate in an off-campus practical experience. Students must have a specific major field of study to be eligible for CPT and in general the practical experience must be connected to a practical course (internship, practicum, etc.), a course requirement or a degree program requirement.
  • Optional Practical Training (OPT): Benefit for F-1 students who wish to undertake an optional paid practical experience off-campus during their program (pre-completion OPT) or after graduation (post-completion OPT).
  • Academic Training (AT): Benefit for J-1 students who wish to participate in a practical experience during their program (pre-completion) or upon graduation (post-completion).

Students are required to attend a practical training workshop before submitting an application. The workshops provide information about how the practical training authorizations function as well as the application process and how students maintain status during periods of practical training.

If you are graduating this semester or if you are considering participating in an internship or other off-campus practical experience you will need to attend a session before you apply for the authorization. Students planning for spring and summer internships should attend a workshop in the fall semester. Students who are graduating should attend an OPT session as early as possible in their last semester.

Spots are limited! Please register for a workshop time via the ISSS Portal to reserve a space. 

 

CPT Workshops:

Thursday, October 18
4:30 PM – 5:30 PM
SLC LL room 3

Tuesday, October 23
10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
SLC LL Room 3

Thursday, November 1
4:00 PM – 5:00 PM
SLC LL Room 3

Tuesday, November 13
10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
SLC LL room 3

Wednesday, November 28
4:30 PM – 5:30 PM
SLC LL room 3

 

OPT Workshops For Bachelor’s, Master’s and Professional Students:

Friday, October 4
5:30 PM – 7:00 PM
ISSS Lobby, 109 SLC

Monday, October 8
5:00 PM – 6:30 PM
Rand Hall 308

Tuesday, October 16
10:00 AM – 11:30 AM
SLC LL Room 3

Monday, October 29
11:30 AM – 1:00 PM
SLC LL Room 3

Friday, November 2
4:00 PM – 5:30 PM
SLC LL Room 3

Monday, November 12
10:00 AM – 11:30 AM
SLC LL Room 3

Tuesday, November 27
4:30 PM – 6:00 PM
SLC LL Room 3

 

OPT Workshops For PhD Students:

Tuesday, October 9
5:30 PM – 7:00 PM
ISSS Lobby, 109 SLC

Monday, October 15
10:00 AM – 11:30 AM
SLC LL Room 3

Tuesday, October 30
10:00 AM – 11:30 AM
SLC LL Room 3

Tuesday, November 6
10:00 AM – 11:30 AM
SLC LL Room 3

Monday, November 26
4:30 PM – 6:00 PM
SLC LL Room 3

 

Academic Training Workshops:

Monday, November 5
10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
SLC LL Room 3

 

Tags: