Skip to main content

Chancellor’s Award for Research

Call for Nominations: Spring 2024
Submission Deadline: Summer 2024

The Chancellor’s Awards for Research recognize excellence on the part of faculty in published research, scholarship, or creative expression. The awards will be given for works presented or published in the preceding three calendar years. This year’s awards will be given for works that have publication years of 2021, 2022, or 2023. Up to five of these prizes may be awarded each year. Unlike the Sutherland Prize, which is awarded for lifetime achievement in research, the Chancellor’s Awards for Research recognize excellence for research published during a given year. All full-time faculty members are eligible for these research prizes. Works by research teams (two or more faculty) at Vanderbilt are also eligible for consideration. All Vanderbilt co-authors must be nominated in a single nomination, and they would share the award. (Co-authors who are not Vanderbilt faculty are not recognized.)

The award consists of a prize of $ 2,000 and an engraved pewter julep cup.

Nominations must include the following materials:

  1. The full citation for the work;
  2. A brief description of the nominated work;
  3. An explanation of the significance of the research, scholarship, or creative expression;
  4. Evidence of the work’s importance, including external commentary, book reviews, impact factors, citations, awards, and other external recognition;
  5. A complete curriculum vitae; and,
  6. A copy of the article or, in the case of a book, the introduction and a significant chapter. For creative works or presentations, an appropriate archival work may be submitted.

Letters of nomination or additional recommendation letters are helpful but not required.

Previous recipients are not eligible to receive a second award. The list of past winners can be found on the Office of Faculty Affairs website.

Complete nominations must be received by TBA.

Please submit all nominations electronically via InfoReady. You must log in to the system using your VUnetID and password. Please direct any questions to the Office of Faculty Development (

PDF Guide

Current Winners

  • Jonathan Brown (Medicine)
  • Jefferson Cowie (History)
  • Kathryn Humphreys (Psychology & Human Development)
  • Douglas Ruderfer (Medicine)
  • Allison Schachter (Jewish Studies)


  • Mariana Byndloss (Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology)
  • Joshua Caldwell (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Bennett Landman (Electrical Engineering)
  • Emily Greble (German, Russian & East European Studies
  • John McLean (Chemistry)
  • Yesha Yadav (Law)


  • Brandon Byrd (History)
  • Andrew Coe (Political Science)
  • Sara Mayeux (Law)
  • Justus Ndukaife (Electrical Engineering)
  • John Wilson (Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering)
  • Manuel Ascano (Biochemistry)
  • Mark Kelley (Surgery)
  • Douglas Johnson (Medicine)
  • Justin Balko (Medicine)


  • Jessica Clarke (Law)
  • Nicole Creanza (Biological Sciences)
  • Jennifer Fay (English)
  • Jonathan Metzl (Sociology, Psychiatry, and Medicine, Health & Society)
  • Cynthia Reinhart-King (Biomedical Engineering)


  • Sarah Igo (History)
  • Mark Jarman (English)
  • Todd Rice (Medicine), Wesley Self (Emergency Medicine), and Mathew Semler (Medicine)
  • Sharon Weiss (Electrical Engineering)
  • Kimberly Welch (History)


  • Clare McCabe (Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering)
  • Douglas Shadle (Musicology)
  • Steven Townsend (Chemistry)
  • Michael Vandenbergh (Law) and Jonathan Gilligan (Earth and Environmental Sciences)
  • Colin Walsh (Biomedical Informatics)


  • Tony Capra (Biological Sciences)
  • René Gifford (Hearing & Speech Sciences)
  • Morgan Ricks (Law)
  • Ganesh Sitaraman (Law)
  • Jason Valentine (Mechanical Engineering)


  • Christopher M.S. Johns (History of Art)
  • Sohee Park (Psychology) & Geoffrey Woodman (Psychology)
  • Marybeth Shinn (Human and Organizational Development)
  • Julia Velkovska (Physics)
  • Alan Wiseman (Political Science)


  • Julia Cohen (Jewish Studies)
  • Lisa Guenther (Philosophy)
  • Sachin Patel (Psychiatry)
  • Joseph Rife (Classical Studies)
  • Kevin Stack (Law)


  • Seth R. Bordenstein (Biological Sciences)
  • Joshua C. Denny (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Isabel Gauthier (Psychology)
  • Joel F. Harrington (History)
  • Holly J. McCammon (Sociology)


  • Randy D. Blakely (Pharmacology)
    Jeremy Veenstra-VanderWeele (Psychiatry)
  • Vivien Casagrande (Cell & Developmental Biology)
  • Deyu LI (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Betsey Robinson (History of Art)
  • Daniel J. Sharfstein (Law)


  • Darryl J. Bornhop (Chemistry)
  • William O. Cooper (Pediatrics)
  • Colin Dayan (English)
  • Kelly Oliver (Philosophy)
  • Holly A. Tucker (French & Italian)


  • Brandt F. Eichman (Biological Sciences)
  • Larry W. Isaac (Sociology)
  • Jeffrey N. Johnston (Chemistry)
  • Robert M. Kessler (Radiology & Radiological Sciences; Psychiatry)
    David H. Zald (Psychology; Psychiatry)
  • Antonis Rokas (Biological Sciences)


  • Tony Lee Earley (English)
  • Judy Garber (Psychology, Peabody College)
  • Todd R. Graham (Biological Sciences)
  • Björn C. Knollmann (Pharmacology)
  • Charles R. Sanders II (Biochemistry)


  • Yanqin Fan (Economics)
  • Irina N. Kaverina (Cell & Development Biology)
  • Gordon Dennis Logan (Psychology, A&S)
    Thomas J. Palmeri (Psychology, A&S)
    Jeffery D. Schall (Psychology, A&S)
  • James G. Patton (Biological Sciences)
  • Eric Patrick Skaar (Microbiology & Immunology)


  • Michael Goldfarb (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Douglas G. McMahon (Biological Sciences)
  • Tracy G. Miller (History of Art)
  • Frank Tong (Psychology A&S)
  • Mark A. Wollaeger (English)


  • Bruce Hans Appel (Biological Sciences)
  • James E. Crowe, Jr. (Pediatrics)
  • Peter T. Cummings (Chemical Engineering)
  • Richard Douglas Lloyd (Sociology)
  • Daphne Manoussaki (Mathematics)
  • Keivan Guadalupe Stassun (Physics & Astronomy)


  • Kenneth C. Catania (Biological Sciences)
    G. Kane Jennings (Chemical Engineering)
  • Walter J. Chazin (Biochemistry)
    Ellen H. Fanning (Biological Sciences)
  • Daniela Drummond-Barbosa (Cell and Developmental Biology)
  • E. Duco Jansen (Biomedical Engineering)
    Changqing Kao (Neurological Surgery)
    Peter E. Konrad (Neurological Surgery)
    Anita Mahadevan-Jansen (Biomedical Engineering)
  • Hassane S. Mchaourab (Molecular Physiology and Biophysics)


  • A.B. Bonds (Electrical Engineering & Computer Science)
  • Martin Egli (Biochemistry)
    Carl H. Johnson (Biological Sciences)
  • Douglas P. Hardin (Mathematics)
    Edward B. Saff (Mathematics)
  • Nancy J. King (Law)
  • René Marois (Psychology)
  • David A.Weintraub (Physics & Astronomy)


  • Randolph Blake (Psychology)
    Joseph S. Lappin (Psychology)
  • Gabor Karsai (Electrical Engineering & Computer Science)
    Janos Sztipanovits (Electrical Engineering & Computer Science)
  • Robert A. Knop, Jr. (Physics & Astronomy)
  • Marilyn L. Murphy (Art)


  • Jeffrey R. Balser (Anesthesiology)
  • Rebecca L. Brown (Law)
  • Daniel M. Fleetwood (Electrical Engineering & Computer Science)
    Sokrates Theodore Pantelides (Physics & Astronomy)
    Ronald D. Schrimpf (Electrical Engineering & Computer Science)
  • Alfred L. George, Jr. (Medicine)
  • Nilanjan Sarkar (Mechanical Engineering)