Skip to main content


Seligson Prize

LAPOP Lab announces the 2023 Seligson Prize winners . .

The Seligson Prize is awarded annually to the best scholarship (paper, book, dissertation, or other scholarly work) using LAPOP's AmericasBarometer data that was published or finalized in the prior two calendar years. The prize is named in honor of Mitchell Seligson, the founder of LAPOP and a pioneer in the study of public opinion in Latin America.

The 2023 winners are Jana Morgan and Nathan J. Kelly for their paper Inequality, Exclusion, and Tolerance for Political Dissent in Latin America!

The 2023 award committee members were Carew Boulding of the University of Colorado Boulder , Lucas Novaes of Insper Institute of Education and Research , and Melina Altamirano of El Colegio de México (Colmex). 

Past Recipients 


Carew Boulding and Claudio A. Holzner

Voice and Inequality: Poverty and Political Participation in Latin American Democracies


Melina Altamirano, Sarah Berens, and Sandra Ley

"The Welfare State amid Crime: How Victimization and Perceptions of Insecurity Affect Social Policy Preferences in Latin America and the Caribbean." Politics & Society 46 (3): 389-422


Alisha Holland

"Diminished Expectations: Redistributive Preferences in Truncated Welfare States." World Politics 70(4): 555-594. DOI: 10.1017/S0043887118000096


Matthew Singer

"Delegating Away Democracy: How Good Representation and Policy Success Can Undermine Democratic Legitimacy” Comparative Political Studies 51(13): 1754 - 1788. DOI: 10.1177/0010414018784054


Samuel Handlin

Handlin, Samuel. 2016. "Mass Organization and the Durability of Competitive Authoritarian Regimes: Evidence from Venezuela." Comparative Political Studies 49(9): 1238-1269. DOI: 10.1177/0010414016628186


Joby Schaffer and Andy Baker

Schaffer, Joby, and Andy Baker. 2015. "Clientelism as Persuasion-Buying: Evidence from Latin America." Comparative Political Studies 48(9): 1093-1126. DOI: 0010414015574881.