Skip to main content

Dr. V. Ganesan Faculty Fellowship

Campaign Chair: Dr. Amrutur Anilkumar

In pursuit of support of excellence in the Mechanical Sciences and Engineering at IIT Madras, we have set up the Dr. V. Ganesan Faculty Fellow Chair in the field of Thermal and Fluid Sciences and Engineering (T&FS).  The first campaign for excellence in Mechanical Sciences at IITM culminated in 2018 by instituting the Dr. V. Ramamurti Faculty Fellow Chair in Dynamics and Control Engineering.

Dr. V. Ganesan Faculty Fellow Initiation Function was held at IITM on June 6th 2023. The details of the program can be followed here:


Dr. V. Ganesan, completed his M.Tech (1970) and PhD (1975) degrees in IC Engines and Gas Turbine Engineering at IIT Madras.  After an illustrious career spanning some forty years Dr. V. Ganesan retired from IIT Madras in 2015 after graduating 41 PhDs, about 200 M.Tech and MS students, while mentoring scores of undergraduate students.  He published some 444 scientific articles, authored three books on IC Engines, Heat Transfer, and Gas Turbines, and pursued research collaborations at Imperial College of Science and Technology and at Kyoto University.  Dr. Ganesan won many international acclaims including: becoming a Fellow of Society of Automotive Engineers SAE International, Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering, Fellow of Institution of Engineers (India) and Fellow of National Environmental Science Academy (India).  He also received Life Time Achievement Award from the International Society of Energy, Environment and Sustainability for his valuable contribution in the area of energy and environment. Dr. Ganesan was also the founding member of SAE India where he served as a lifetime member since its inception.