Data Science Minor Design Committee


The Data Science Minor Design Committee is charged with developing an undergraduate data science program that distinctly contributes to hallmarks of a Vanderbilt education. As a complement to the University's recent investment in data science-with the founding of a new institute and the launch of a new professional master's degree-this program will provide opportunities for students in any undergraduate college or school to engage in digital, quantitative, and computational thinking. These multidisciplinary perspectives, as hallmarks in the field of data science, will build the foundation for potentially transformative immersion experiences.


  • Thomas Palmeri, professor, psychology, co-director, scientific computing, College of Arts and Science, chair
  • André Christie-Mizell, dean, undergraduate education, professor, sociology, College of Arts and Science
  • Cynthia Cyrus, vice provost for learning and residential affairs, professor of musicology, affiliated faculty in women's and gender studies, Office of the Provost; ex officio
  • Julie Johnson, associate professor of the practice, computer science, director, undergraduate studies in computer science, School of Engineering
  • Stanley Link, associate professor, composition, philosophy and analysis of music, Blair School of Music
  • Joshua McGuire, senior lecturer, aural skills, Blair School of Music
  • K. Arthur Overholser, senior associate dean, professor, biomedical engineering, professor, chemical engineering, School of Engineering
  • Joseph Rodgers, Lois Autrey Betts Professor of Psychology and Human Development, Peabody College
  • Craig Smith, associate professor, psychology and human development, associate dean, undergraduate studies, acting associate dean, graduate education, investigator, Vanderbilt Kennedy Center for Research on Human Development, Peabody College