Skip to main content

Key Dates

***All dates are subject to change.***

Fall 2021
Thursday, October 31 Intra-term graduation
Monday, November 1 Last day to schedule defense for December 18 graduation
Wednesday, November 3 Spring 2022 registration opens
Sunday, November 7 Intent to Graduate form closes
Thursday, November 18 Deadline to submit theses and dissertations for December 18 graduation
Saturday, November 20–Sunday, November 28 Thanksgiving holiday
Monday, December 6 Spring 2022 open enrollment begins
Friday, December 10 Classes end
Sunday, December 12 Final grading opens
Saturday, December 18 End of term • Graduation
Friday, December 24–Monday, January 3 Vanderbilt University administrative offices closed
Spring 2022
Friday, December 31, 2021 Deadline for payment of spring tuition and fees
Saturday, January 1, 2022 Last day to schedule defense for January 31 intra-term graduation
Monday, January 10 Spring semester begins
Saturday, January 15 Deadline to submit theses and dissertations for January 31 intra-term graduation
Monday, January 17 Martin Luther King Jr. Day—no classes or clinical activities
Friday, January 21 Spring 2022 open enrollment ends
Monday, January 31 Intra-term graduation
Tuesday, February 1 Last day to schedule defense for February 28 intra-term graduation
Tuesday, February 15 Deadline to submit theses and dissertations for February 28 intra-term graduation
Monday, February 28 Intra-term graduation
Tuesday, March 1 Last day to schedule defense for March 31 intra-term graduation
Saturday, March 5–Sunday, March 13 Spring break
Thursday, March 10 Last day to schedule defense for May 13 graduation
Friday, March 18 Last day to withdraw from spring semester classes with a W
Thursday, March 24 Deadline to submit theses and dissertations for May 13 graduation
Thursday, March 31 Intra-term graduation
Monday, April 25 Classes end
Wednesday, April 27 Final grading opens
Friday, May 6 Final grading closes
Friday, May 13 Commencement
Summer 2022
Monday, May 9 May session begins for master’s and doctoral programs
Monday, May 30 Memorial Day—no classes or clinical activities
Tuesday, June 7 Full summer session begins for master’s and doctoral programs
Friday, August 12 Full summer session ends for master’s and doctoral programs