Skip to main content

Staff WAVE Council

About the Council

The Staff Women’s Advancement and Equity Council is charged with studying and addressing key issues facing the broad array of women staff at Vanderbilt University. The focus on ensuring that women staff are succeeding and supported is core to the university’s shared values of equity, diversity and inclusion.

The steering committee formed subcommittees in the summer of 2019 to address the following topics:

  • compensation
  • professional development
  • workplace safety (including sexual harassment and bullying)
  • value and respect in the workplace
  • work-life balance

The council shared its first annual report with the administration in December of 2020, at which time new co-chairs were appointed to head the council in 2021.

Staff WAVE Council members:

  • Meagan Artus, College of Arts and Science
  • Cara Tuttle Bell, Project Safe Center (past co-chair) 
  • Danielle Certa, Office of the Provost (co-chair)
  • Rory Dicker, Margaret Cuninggim Women’s Center
  • Jennifer Garcia, Dining Services
  • Olivia Hill, Plant Operations
  • Michelle Kovash, Law School
  • Tiffany Lawrence Givens, School of Medicine
  • Jamie Linski, Development and Alumni Relations
  • Jeff Loudon, VUIT
  • Melissa Mallon, Peabody Library
  • Jenny Mandeville, Division of Communications (past co-chair)
  • Jennifer Masterson, Owen Graduate School of Management
  • Dominique Millen, Law School
  • Yasmine Mukahal, Human Resources (co-chair)
  • Leshuan Oliver, Public Safety
  • Traci Ray, Residential Education
  • Kathleen Seabolt, Child and Family Center
  • Fran Spurrier, VUIT
  • Joanne Wang, School of Engineering
  • Lis Wyatt, Plant Operations

Upcoming Events

All upcoming events will be added to Vanderbilt University Calendar in addition to being posted here. For events that require an RSVP, that can be done through the calendar listing.

Share your thoughts

If you have a story to share, or feedback for the council, please use the form below. You can also email us directly at