Shared Governance Reports

In November 2016, Chancellor Zeppos and Provost Wente charged a committee with examining and recommending potential enhancements to governance processes for initiatives involving the entire university.

To understand Vanderbilt's current governance processes at the school/college and University levels for facilitating and incorporating faculty dialogue.


  • Richard Willis, Anne Marie and Thomas B. Walker Jr. Professor, accounting, Owen Graduate School of Management; co-chair;
  • Holly McCammon, Cornelius Vanderbilt Professor; sociology, College of Arts and Science; co-chair;
  • Terrah Foster Akard, associate professor, School of Nursing;
  • Jeffrey Johnston, Stevenson Professor, chemistry, College of Arts and Science;
  • Anne Kenworthy, professor, molecular physiology and biophysics, School of Medicine;
  • Chris Lind, professor, medicine, School of Medicine;
  • David Merryman, associate chair, associate professor, biomedical engineering, School of Engineering;
  • Erin Charles Perez, lecturer, teaching of music, Blair School of Music;
  • Phillis Sheppard, chair of divinity faculty, associate professor, religion, psychology and culture, Divinity School;
  • Marybeth Shinn, Cornelius Vanderbilt Professor; human and organizational development, Peabody College; and
  • Yesha Yadav, faculty co-director of LL. M. Program, professor, Law School.


Draft Report (February 2018)

Shared Governance Final Report (May 2018)