University Diversity Council

The University Diversity Council is charged with advocating for equity, diversity and inclusion across all areas of the university and serving as a guide to Chancellor Daniel Diermeier and Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Cybele Raver to build on existing strengths and identify areas of growth. The council is also charged with making periodic strategic recommendations to the Chancellor and Provost on ways the university can further inclusive excellence among faculty, staff, students and postdoctoral fellows and promote a welcoming and respectful environment on campus and in the greater Nashville community.

The council is chaired by Dr. André L. Churchwell, vice chancellor for equity diversity and inclusion and chief diversity officer. The council includes members from across the Vanderbilt community—faculty, staff, students, postdoctoral fellows and alumni—who serve in both ex officio at at-large positions.

2020-21 University Diversity Council

Committee Chair

  • André L. Churchwell, vice chancellor for equity, diversity and inclusion and chief diversity officer


Xiu Cravens, associate professor of the practice of educational policy, associate dean for international affairs, Peabody CollegeAt large
Stephanie Devane-Johnson, associate professor of nursing, School of NursingAt large
Forrest E. Harris Sr., professor of the practice of ministry, director of the Kelly Miller Smith Institute on Black Church Studies, Divinity SchoolAt large
William Luis, Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Chair in the Humanities and professor of Spanish, College of Arts and Science; chair, Faculty Senate Standing Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusionex officio
Jennifer Shinall , professor of law, Law SchoolAt large
Kimberly Pace, professor for the practice of communication, Owen Graduate School of ManagementAt large
Jose Sibaja, associate professor of trumpet, Blair SchoolAt large


Neha Khetan, project manager, Division of CommunicationsAt large
Marsha Carter, administrative support professional, Division of AdministrationAt large
David Caudel, associate director, Frist Center for Autism and InnovationAt large
Dawnyell Fletcher, assistant director for academic support, AthleticsAt large
Antonio Robinson, USAC equity, diversity, and inclusion ad-hoc committee co-chairex officio
Yasmine Mukahal, talent acquisition team lead, Human ResourcesAt large
Joanne Wang, director of professional and master’s programs, School of EngineeringAt large
Christina Fly, FacilitiesAt large

Undergraduate, graduate and professional students

Carcia Carson, graduate studentex officio, Vanderbilt Graduate Student Council vice president
Veer Shah, undergraduate studentex officio, Vanderbilt Student Government president
Olivia Dominguez, undergraduate studentex officio, Multicultural Leadership Council president
Iriza Baranyanka, undergraduate studentAt Large, International Student Council, representative
Logan Northcutt, graduate studentex officio, Organization of Black Graduate and Professional Students, president
Rachel Roche, undergraduate studentex officio, Vanderbilt Interfaith Council, president
Loveis Jackson, undergraduate studentex officio, Black Student Association, president

Postdoctoral Fellows

Marva Goodson, postdoctoral fellowAt large
ReAnna Roby, senior co-chair ex officio, Vanderbilt Postdoctoral Association senior co-chair


Charleson Bell, BE'07 & MS'09, School of Engineering; Graduate Schoolex officio, Dores of Distinction, chair
Valerie Williams, BE'95, School of Engineeringex officio, Association of Vanderbilt Black Alumni, president