Skip to main content

International Strategy Working Group

ISWG Report CoverDeveloping an international strategy to strengthen Vanderbilt’s international research, scholarship, and creative expression while raising the global profile of the university as a research institution was the charge of the International Strategy Working Group, comprised of faculty from a wide range of disciplines, during the 2016-17 academic year. Through a faculty-driven process that  involved meetings, feedback forums, an online survey and peer research, the group identified Vanderbilt’s strengths and existing international ties, assessed current and best practices of peer institutions, and pinpointed areas of need and opportunity.

International Strategy Working Group Report 

Executive Summary  

Guiding Principles

Vanderbilt Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Susan R. Wente has identified four guiding principles for the development of the university’s global strategy:

  • Building a grassroots foundation through partnerships and continued growth of faculty partnership and collaboration with international colleagues;
  • Leveraging the One Vanderbilt trans-institutional approaches to research, scholarship and teaching to further develop international opportunities;
  • Enhancing student and faculty scholarship through strategic and aligned investments in education and research; and
  • Communicating Vanderbilt’s global impact by re-inventorying existing international efforts and bringing recognition of these efforts through broader communication.

International Strategy Working Group

  • Ted Fischer, co-chair, professor of anthropology, professor of medicine, health and society,  director of the Center for Latin American Studies, College of Arts and Science;
  • Ingrid Wuerth, co-chair, Helen Strong Curry Professor of International Law, Law School;
  • Joy Calico, professor of musicology, Blair School of Music;
  • Roger Colbran, interim chair and professor of molecular physiology and biophysics, School of Medicine
  • Xiu Cravens, associate dean for international affairs, Peabody College;
  • Steven Goodbred, professor of Earth and environmental sciences, College of Arts and Science;
  • Carolyn Heinrich, professor of public policy and education, Peabody College;
  • Debra Jeter, professor of accounting, Owen Graduate School of Management
  • David Kosson, Cornelius Vanderbilt Professor of Engineering, School of Engineering;
  • Jose Medina, professor of philosophy, College of Arts and Science;
  • Moses Ochonu, professor of history, College of Arts and Science;
  • Leong Seow, Distinguished Professor of Hebrew Bible and Vanderbilt, Buffington, Cupples Professor of Divinity, Divinity School; and
  • Muktar Aliyu, associate professor of health policy, School of Medicine.