Skip to main content

DIVE Finalization Committee


The DIVE Finalization Committee will develop the program structure and curriculum in preparation to launch the Design as an Immersive Vanderbilt Experience (DIVE) program in Fall 2017.  

Committee Members

  • Lori Troxel, associate professor of the practice of civil & environmental engineering, School of Engineering; DIVE initiative director; chair; 
  • R. Joel Barnett, associate professor of the practice of mechanical engineering, School of Engineering; 
  • A. Will Berger, undergraduate student, School of Engineering; 
  • Elizabeth C. Boyd, project manager, vice provost for learning and residential affairs; 
  • Derek O. Bruff, director, Center for Teaching; senior lecturer, mathematics, College of Arts and Science;
  • Melissa S. Gresalfi, associate professor of mathematics education, director of graduate studies in teaching and learning, Peabody College;
  • Chalene Helmuth, senior lecturer, Spanish & Portuguese department, College of Arts and Science; 
  • Richard J. Ianelli, senior associate director of research and analytics, Vanderbilt Institutional Research Group;
  • Clive Mentzel, senior lecturer, political science/public policy, College of Arts and Science; director, office of active citizenship & service;
  • David A. Owens, professor for the practice of management and innovation; faculty director, VU Accelerator-Summer Business Institute, Owen Graduate School of Management;
  • Alexandra A. Sargent, senior lecturer of theatre, costume designer & costume shop manager; College of Arts and Science; 
  • Ben Shapiro, doctoral student, Peabody College; and 
  • Celia Walker, director of special projects, Jean and Alexander Heard Library.


To offer feedback, you may email any of the committee members including Vice Provost Cynthia Cyrus at