Vanderbilt Institute of Chemical Biology



Discovery at the VICB







Seventh VICB Highly Cited Articles Award


June 10, 2019


Dear VICB Members,


I am pleased to announce the winners of the seventh VICB Highly Cited Articles Award. This Award was established to recognize members who have published high-impact primary research articles as determined by the number of citations over a two-year period. For the 2019 award, we used Web of Science to survey all members' publications that appeared in print during 2016. We limited the search to those original research articles for which a member served as the communicating author. This search yielded two articles that stood out above the rest. The articles and their authors are listed below.


Each corresponding author will be asked to provide a short (flash-talk) presentation at this year's annual retreat (August 8, 2019) and will receive $1000 to commemorate the accomplishment.


Winner: James Crowe
"Neutralizing human antibodies prevent Zika virus replication and fetal disease in mice"

Gopal Sapparapu, Estefania Fernandez, Nurgun Kose, Bin Cao, Julie M. Fox, Robin G. Bombardi, Haiyan Zhao, Christopher A. Nelson, Aubrey L. Bryan, Trevor Barnes, Edgar Davidson, Indira U. Mysorekar, Daved H. Fremont, Benjamin J. Doranz, Michael S. Diamond, James E. Crowe Jr. (2016). Nature. 540, 443-457.


Winner: Jennifer Pietenpol
"Refinement of Triple-Negative Breast Cancer Molecular Subtypes: Implications for Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy Selection"
Brian D. Lehmann, Bojana Jovanović, Xi Chen, Monica V. Estrada, Kimberly
N. Johnson, Yu Shyr, Harold L. Moses, Melinda E. Sanders, Jennifer A. Pietenpol
(2016). PLOS ONE. DOI: 10.1371/journal.pone.0157368


Please join me in congratulating these VICB members on their achievement.




Gary Sulikowski, Ph.D.
Interim Director, Vanderbilt Institute of Chemical Biology








The Vanderbilt Institute of Chemical Biology, 896 Preston Building, Nashville, TN 37232-6304, phone 866.303 VICB (8422), fax 615 936 3884
Vanderbilt University is committed to principles of equal opportunity and affirmative action. Copyright © 2014 by Vanderbilt University Medical Center