Honors and Awards

Sankaran Mahadevan

Amrutur V. Anilkumar

Amrutur V. Anilkumar, professor of the practice of mechanical engineering, and Sankaran Mahadevan, John R. Murray Sr. Professor of Engineering, have been elected as associate fellows in the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. To be eligible, individuals must be AIAA senior members with at least 12 years of professional experience and have been recommended by three or more AIAA members with AIAA associate or fellow grade.

Peter T. Cummings

Peter T. Cummings, John R. Hall Professor of Chemical Engineering, has been appointed to two advisory boards for the National Science Foundation. The appointments are to NSF’s Advisory Committee for the Engineering Directorate and to the Advisory Committee for Cyberinfrastructure. Cummings has also been named the 2012 Yeram S. Touloukian Award recipient by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. The achievement award recognizes outstanding technical contributions in the field of thermo-physical properties.

Todd Giorgio

Todd Giorgio, professor of biomedical engineering and department chair, has been elected a fellow of the Biomedical Engineering Society. BMES fellows are nominated by their peers, elected by a fellows committee and recognized for outstanding contributions and achievements in biomedical engineering.

Paul King

Paul King, professor of biomedical engineering, emeritus, received a lifetime achievement award for outstanding accomplishments in biomedical engineering design instruction. The award was presented to King by the Biomedical Engineering Innovation, Design & Entrepreneurship Alliance during its annual symposium at the Biomedical Engineering Society conference.

Eugene J. LeBoeuf

Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering Eugene J. LeBoeuf has been elected a fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineers. This is the second highest honor given by ASCE and held by fewer than 5 percent of ASCE members.

M. Douglas LeVan

The American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the nation’s premier chemical engineering group, has inducted M. Douglas LeVan, J. Lawrence Wilson Professor of Engineering, as fellow. AIChE fellows must have at least 25 years’ experience and show extraordinary accomplishments in the field.

Anita Mahadevan-Jansen

Anita Mahadevan-Jansen, Orrin H. Ingram Professor of Engineering, has been elected a 2012 fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering. Elected AIMBE fellows represent the top 2 percent of biomedical engineers in the country and are chosen for exceptional leadership and achievements in medical and biological engineering.

Yuan Xue

Yuan Xue, assistant professor of computer science and computer engineering, has received a Faculty Early Career Development award, given by the National Science Foundation to promising junior faculty. The award will support Xue’s research into resolving the increasing problem of wireless data network congestion.
Be Sociable, Share!


2 comments for Honors and Awards

Post a comment

ERROR: si-captcha.php plugin says GD image support not detected in PHP!

Contact your web host and ask them why GD image support is not enabled for PHP.

ERROR: si-captcha.php plugin says imagepng function not detected in PHP!

Contact your web host and ask them why imagepng function is not enabled for PHP.