Skip to main content

Honors and Awards

Posted by on Wednesday, April 20, 2011 in Honors and Awards, Spring 2011.

J. Michael Fitzpatrick
E. Duco Jansen
E. Duco Jansen, professor of biomedical engineering, was elected into the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering’s College of Fellows.

J. Michael Fitzpatrick, professor of computer science, computer engineering and electrical engineering, emeritus, has been named an IEEE Fellow.

John P. Wikswo
John C. Gore

John C. Gore and John P. Wikswo have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in the categories of neuroscience and physics, respectively. Gore, Hertha Ramsey Cress Chair in Medicine and professor of biomedical engineering, was honored for distinguished contributions to the development and application of imaging methods for biomedical science, and as director of the Vanderbilt University Institute of Imaging Science. Wikswo, Gordon A. Cain University Professor, A. B. Learned Professor of Living Physics and professor of biomedical engineering and physics, was honored for distinguished contributions at the interface of physics, biology, bioengineering and medicine.

Bradley Malin, research assistant professor of computer science and assistant professor of biomedical informatics, has received a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) for pioneering approaches to managing and protecting the privacy of electronic health records and research data.

Bradley Malin
Sokrates Pantelides
Robert Reed
Ron Schrimpf

Sokrates Pantelides, William A. and Nancy F. McMinn Professor of Physics and professor of electrical engineering, has been named University Distinguished Professor of Physics and Engineering.

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering Robert Reed has been elected one of three representatives from the Radiation Effects Technical Committee to the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society Administrative Committee.

Ron Schrimpf, Orrin Henry Ingram Chair in Engineering, director of the Institute for Space and Defense Electronics (ISDE) and faculty head of Memorial House on The Commons, received Vanderbilt University’s Chancellor’s Cup for the greatest recent contribution outside the classroom to undergraduate student–faculty relationships.

Nabil Simaan
Janos Sztipanovits

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering Nabil Simaan received the 2010 Benjamins Award from the Collegium Oto-Rhino-Laryngologicum Amicitiae Sacrum (CORLAS). It is regarded by many as the most impressive international award given by the otolaryngology society. Simaan and his research partners were honored for work on robotic insertions of steerable cochlear implant electrodes.

Janos Sztipanovits, E. Bronson Ingram Distinguished Professor of Engineering, professor of electrical engineering and computer engineering, and director of the Institute for Software Integrated Systems (ISIS), received the Air Force Meritorious Civilian Service Award Medal for his service to the Air Force Scientific Advisory Board. The honor is commonly the second highest award and medal provided to civilian employees within agencies of the federal government of the United States.