Skip to main content

Honors and Awards

Posted by on Wednesday, September 22, 2010 in Fall 2010, Honors and Awards.


A.B. Bonds, professor of electrical engineering and associate chair of electrical engineering and computer science, received the Edward J. White Engineering Faculty Award for Excellence in Service for his 30 years exemplary service to the School of Engineering.

Peter Cummings, John R. Hall Professor of Chemical Engineering, is the 2010 recipient of the AIChE Founders Award, the highest honor bestowed by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. He was honored for outstanding contributions to the field of chemical engineering and achievements that advance the profession.

Douglas H. Fisher, associate professor of computer science and computer engineering, received a Director’s Award for Program Management Excellence from the National Science Foundation. Fisher served three years as a program director at the NSF’s Directorate for Computer and Information Science and Engineering before returning to VUSE this fall.

Jansen and Mahadevan-Jansen

Haoxiang Luo, assistant professor of mechanical engineering, was awarded a National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award in the area of fluid dynamics. He will research computational modeling of insect flight and how it might inform the development of micro air vehicles.

Biomedical engineering professors E. Duco Jansen and Anita Mahadevan-Jansen were named fellows of the International Photonic Science and Engineering Society (SPIE). This is only the second time in the society’s history that a husband and wife have been honored as fellows simultaneously.

David Kosson, professor and chair of civil and environmental engineering, received Vanderbilt’s Joe B. Wyatt Distinguished University Professor Award, given for the development of significant new knowledge from research or exemplary innovations in teaching. The award conveys the title for one year.


Clare McCabe, associate professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, received the school’s Excellence in Teaching Award, given to a faculty member who makes significant contributions to excellence in undergraduate or graduate instruction during the academic year.

Peter Pintauro, H. Eugene McBrayer Professor of Chemical Engineering and chair of chemical and biomolecular engineering, has been elected a fellow of the Electrochemical Society.

Janos Sztipanovits, E. Bronson Ingram Distinguished Professor of Engineering, professor of electrical engineering and computer engineering, and director of the Institute for Software Integrated Systems, was elected an external member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Engineering Sciences Section. The honor is for eminent Hungarian scholars who live outside Hungary.

Jamey Young, assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, received a National Science Foundation Early Career Development (CAREER) Award. The grant will support research into the mechanisms by which saturated fatty acids induce metabolic dysfunction and cell death in liver tissues.

The School of Engineering extends congratulations to L. Hall Hardaway Jr., BE’57, on receiving the Associated General Contractors SIR (Skill, Integrity, Responsibility) Award, the highest honor presented by the Middle Tennessee chapter of AGC. Chairman of Hardaway Construction and member emeritus of the Vanderbilt University Board of Trust, Hardaway was inducted into the School of Engineering’s Academy of Distinguished Alumni in 2002.