Skip to main content

Promoted, Honored and New Faculty

Posted by on Friday, September 11, 2009 in Digest, Fall 2009.


The School of Engineering has newly promoted professors, a new professor, emeritus, and seven new faculty members this academic year.

Two faculty members have been promoted to full professor and a third has been promoted to associate professor. Anita Mahadevan-Jansen, professor of biomedical engineering, and Bharat Bhuva, professor of electrical engineering, were both promoted to professor from associate professor. Xenofon Koutsoukos, formerly assistant professor of computer science and computer engineering, was promoted to associate professor with tenure.

Additionally, Akos Ledeczi has been appointed associate professor of computer engineering with tenure.

In May the Vanderbilt Board of Trust designated Taylor G. Wang as a Centennial Professor of Mechanical Engineering, emeritus; a Centennial Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, emeritus; and a professor of applied physics, emeritus.

New to the school this fall are Jon F. Edd, assistant professor of mechanical engineering, W. David Merryman, assistant professor of biomedical engineering, Hak-Joon Sung, assistant professor of biomedical engineering, and Yaqiong Xu, assistant professor of electrical engineering and assistant professor of physics. In January 2010 the school will welcome Craig L. Duvall, assistant professor of biomedical engineering and Bennett A. Landman, assistant professor of electrical engineering.

Be Sociable, Share!