Skip to main content

Zero Waste Study

The Zero Waste Study kicked off in November of 2018.  The Zero Waste working group, including a mix of campus stakeholders, was charged with developing a plan to include an overarching strategy, milestones and timeline focused on waste diversion from landfill, waste reduction, food waste reduction, and single-use plastics elimination. The Zero Waste Master Plan was released in January 2020.

Advisory Committee Membership


Andrea George, Director, Facilities Sustainability and Environmental Management Office (SEMO)

Mark Petty, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Facilities Plant Operations


John Ayers, Professor, Earth & Environmental Sciences

Kate Bennett, Student Services, Owen Graduate School of Management, Member of Net Impact

Matthew Buckley, Assistant Director, Facilities Plant Operations

Ashley Carse, Assistant Professor, Human & Organizational Development, Peabody College

Aaron Covey, Coordinator, Space & Facilities, College of Arts & Sciences

Levi Dyer, Purchasing Agent, Procurement and Payment Services

Margaret Emley, Director, Facilities Vanderbilt University Real Estate (VURE)

Alexandra Ewing, Assistant Director, Facilities SEMO

Lisa Fiorentino, Assistant Director, Facilities VURE

Doug Fisher, Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences

Scott Glasgow, Senior Special Events Coordinator, Employee Appreciation, Human Resources

Chelsea Hamilton, Outreach Coordinator, Facilities SEMO

Rachel Harrell, Program Manager, Vanderbilt Law School

Patricia Helland, Associate Dean, Dean of Students’ Office

Suzanne Herron, Sustainability Manager, Dining Services

Tom Howard, Facilities Manager, Athletics Department

Carrie Johnson, Assistant Director, Student Centers

Ashley Majewski, Coordinator, Division of Administration

Dan Morgan, Associate Dean and Faculty Head of House College of Arts & Sciences

Jayne M Morris, Assistant Director, Commencement

Chuck Nicholas, Director, Procurement and Payment Services

Linda Reichenberger, Director, Special Events

Janet Roberts, Facilities Manager, Peabody College Office of the Dean

Christina Robbins, Director, The Martha Rivers Ingram Commons

Aimee Robinson, Program Coordinator, The Martha Rivers Ingram Commons

Martin Salamone, Assistant Director, Student Athletics

Megan Sargent, Project Manager, Facilities Campus Planning and Construction

Kathleen Seabolt, Executive Director, Vanderbilt Child and Family Center

Leigh Shoup, Chief of Staff, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Administration

David Ter Kuile, Executive Director, Vanderbilt University Campus Dining

Rae Torres, Faculty Assistant, Vanderbilt Law School

Kristin Torrey, Director of Greek Life

Lori Troxel, Professor of the Practice, Civil Engineering

Lori Ungurait, Executive Secretary, Facilities Business Operations

Chris Vanags, Director, Peabody College Office of the Dean

Lisbeth Wyatt, Director, Facilities Operations


Fehintola Agboola, Students Promoting Environmental Awareness and Responsibility (SPEAR)

Keegan Campanelli, SPEAR representative

Taylor Campbell, Student

Anjay Friedman, Student

Joella Hartzler, Student

Lanier Langdale, Vanderbilt Student Government (VSG) representative

Alejah Love, Student Intern, SEMO

Melissa Markham, Student

Bree’ara Murphy, Metro Public Works Intern, 2018-2019

Daniel Shin, Student Intern, SEMO

Simon Silverberg, VSG representative

Ellena Soule, SPEAR representative


Mary Lauren Benton, Graduate Student Council (GSC)

Becky Cutler, Graduate Student, Psychology

Howell Liu, Graduate Student, OGSM

Carolyn Talaske, Graduate Student, OGSM


Kelly Tipler, Director, Metro Beautification and Environment Commission, Metro Public Works