Letters Archive
Fall 2002, Vol. 11, No. 1 (requires Adobe Acrobat)

Kay Redfield Jamison to Present the 2002 Howard Lecture

This year’s Harry C. Howard Jr. Lecturer, is Kay Redfield Jamison, professor of psychiatry, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and Honorary Professor of English, University of St. Andrews (Scotland). She will present her lecture, “A Life In Moods: Personal and Professional Perspectives on Mental Illness,” on Thursday October 17th (location and time TBA). Professor Jamison is a psychologist and a leading expert on serious mood disorders. The Harry Howard Jr. Lecture Series was established in 1994 through the endowment of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas E. Nash, Jr., and Mr. and Mrs. George D. Renfro, all of Asheville, North Carolina. The lectureship honors Harry C. Howard, Jr. (B.A. 1951) of Atlanta and allows the Robert Penn Warren Center to bring an outstanding scholar to Vanderbilt annually to deliver a lecture on a significant topic in the humanities.

Professor Jamison’s writing, teaching, and clinical research on depression have had a broad impact on mental health treatment, on patient support and advocacy, and on public awareness of psychiatric disorders. Jamison herself suffers from manic-depression and has drawn on her own affliction in an attempt to educate the public. Her books include Touched With Fire: Manic-Depressive Illness and the Artistic Temperament (Free Press Paperbacks, 1993); An Unquiet Mind (Picador, 1995); and Night Falls Fast: Understanding Suicide (Picador, 1999). She co-authored an influential medical text on manic-dperession, Manic-Depressive Illness (Oxford UP, 1990) and has published numerous articles in journals such as The American Journal of Psychiatry, The Journal of Clinical Psychiatry, and the Annual Review of Neuroscience.

Professor Jamison received her B.A. (1971), M.A. (1971), C. Phil. (1973) and Ph.D. (1975) from the University of California, Los Angeles. She taught at UCLA’s School of Medicine from 1974–1987 and has been affiliated with the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine Department of Psychiatry since 1987. She is the recipient of the National Mental Health Association’s William Styron Award (1995), the American Suicide Foundation Research Award (1996), the Community Mental Health Leadership Award (1999), and the MacArthur “Genius” Award (2001).

Letters Archive Index

For more information, contact the Center's executive director, Mona C. Frederick.

[ RPW Center for the Humanities | About the Center | Visiting Fellowship Information | Howard Lecture Series | Seminars and Programs | Programs since 1987 ]

[ Vanderbilt University | Site Index | | Help ]

Created by Vanderbilt University Design & Publishing.
Photo credits: Gerald Holly and Vanderbilt University Publications & Design.

Copyright © 2002, Vanderbilt University
URL: http://www.vanderbilt.edu/rpw_center/
Last Modified: Tuesday, 3 September 2002
For more information: rpw.center@vanderbilt.edu