Pre-Award Office Director Search

Search closed


The Director of the Pre-Award Office is responsible for providing leadership, advice and superior client service in the provision of all pre-award services, including but not limited to, proposal review and submission, negotiation of terms and conditions, and award acceptance for a portfolio of over $250 million at Vanderbilt University.

The Pre-Award Director Search Committee members are:

  • William J. Collins, Terence E. Adderley Jr. Professor of Economics;
  • Dale Farran, senior associate director of the Peabody Research Institute and Antonio and Anita Gotto Professor, Department of Teaching and Learning;
  • Dan Fleetwood, Olin H. Landreth Professor of Engineering and chair, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science;
  • Janiece Harrison, associate dean for finance and administration, School of Engineering;
  • Scott Hiebert, Hortense B. Ingram Professor of Cancer Research and associate director for basic science and shared resources, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center;
  • Larry Marnett, associate vice chancellor for research;
  • Palmer Payne, administrative officer, Peabody Research Office; and
  • Robert Scherrer, professor and chair, Department of Physics and Astronomy


Working group-designed model for pre-award grant contract support and director search launched