Director of the Bass Military Scholars Program

SEARCH COMPLETE: Retired U.S. Army Brig. Gen. Scott Brower named Director of the Bass Military Scholars Program


Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Susan R. Wente has appointed a committee to conduct a national search for the next director of the Bass Military Scholars Program.

The program director sets the strategic leadership and direction for the Bass Military Scholars ProgramThe Bass Military Scholars Program provides financial aid and programming for meritorious professional students who are honorably discharged US Military or Coast Guard veterans pursuing post-baccalaureate degrees to be awarded from Vanderbilt’s Law School (J.D. program), Owen Graduate School of Management (M.B.A. program), Peabody College (M.Ed. and M.P.P. program), School of Medicine (M.D. program), and School of Nursing (M.S.N. program). Veterans participating in the program provide meaningful mentoring for other students at Vanderbilt to expose the student body to the values, discipline, and mission focus veterans bring to the classroom. This provides the Vanderbilt student body a better awareness and appreciation of the life experience, selfless service and sacrifice common to US military and Coast Guard veterans. 

Vanderbilt University is excited to be able to offer this opportunity to US military and Coast Guard veterans and is looking for a director who is eager to recruit and support these scholars.  

Search Committee members:

  • Susan R. Wente (co-chair), provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs
  • Vanessa Beasley (co-chair), vice provost for academic affairs and dean of residential faculty
  • Perry R. Bass II, president of the Perry R. Bass II Foundation
  • Amy Fleming, professor of pediatrics, professor of medical education and administration, associate dean for medical student affairs, School of Medicine
  • Preston “Pete” M. Geren III, executive director of the Lee and Ramona Bass Foundation, president and CEO of the Sid W. Richardson Foundation
  • Alyssa Hartley , former U.S. Navy lieutenant, Boston University, special pperations Naval aviator, Bass Scholar
  • Tyler LaChance, former U.S. army captain, Vanderbilt University, field artillery officer, Bass Scholar
  • Mary Lambert , associate professor, School of Nursing
  • Catherine Loss, associate dean for academic affairs and professional education, associate professor of the practice, Department of Leadership, Policy and Organizations, Vanderbilt Peabody College
  • Todd Morton, assistant dean and dean of admissions, Law School
  • Sue Oldham, associate dean, MBA operations, Owen Graduate School of Management
  • William Robinson, vice provost for academic advancement and executive director of the Provost’s Office for Inclusive Excellence
  • Brett Sweet, vice chancellor for finance and chief financial officer
  • Nora Wingfield Tyson , Vanderbilt trustee