Blair School of Music Dean

SEARCH CLOSED: Lorenzo (Frank) Candelaria named dean of Blair School of Music

Summary: Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Susan R. Wente has appointed a committee to conduct a national search for the next dean of the Blair School of Music.

This committee is charged with finding a leader with the vision and experience to continue to advance the Blair School of Music’s priorities in teaching, creative expression, scholarship, faculty development, and trans-institutional collaboration. The committee will work with the national search firm Isaacson Miller to identify the best possible candidates.

Search Committee members: 

  • Emilie Townes (chair), dean of the Divinity School and E. Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Professor of Womanist Ethics and Society
  • Philippe Fauchet, Bruce and Bridgitt Evans Dean of Engineering and professor of electrical engineering
  • Ji Hye Jung, associate professor of percussion
  • Peter Kolkay, associate professor of bassoon and chair of the Woodwinds department
  • Leah Lowe, associate professor of theatre and chair of the department
  • Ebony McGee, associate professor of teaching and learning
  • Kathleen Justice-Moore, JD’91, member of the Vanderbilt Board of Trust
  • Christina Rogers, Vanderbilt undergraduate majoring in clarinet
  • Melissa Rose, professor of piano and senior associate dean for academic affairs at Blair School of Music
  • Daniel Bernard Roumain, B.Mus.’93
  • Christopher Serkin, Elisabeth H. and Granville S. Ridley Jr. Professor of Law and associate dean for academic affairs at the Law School
  • Douglas Shadle, associate professor of musicology and chair of the Musicology and Ethnomusicology department
  • Felix Wang, professor of cello
  • Jonathan Waters, senior lecturer in cinema and media arts