Skip to main content

Vanderbilt University Press Review Committee

The Office of the Provost has charged this committee, comprising authors, faculty and university leaders, to make strategic recommendations for Vanderbilt University Press.


  • Dan Sharfstein, chair, Tarkington Professor of Teaching Excellence
  • Steve Ertel, vice chancellor for communications
  • Valerie Hotchkiss, university librarian
  • Christopher Loss, associate professor of public policy and higher education
  • Andrew Maraniss, author of Strong Inside: Perry Wallace and the Collision of Race and Sports in the South and entrepreneur in residence at the Wond’ry
  • Dana Nelson, Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of English
  • Edward Wright Rios, professor of history
  • Douglas Shadle, assistant professor of musicology