Religious Affairs Standing Committee


The Committee serves as an advisory body to the University on issues related to engaging with and supporting the religious and spiritual life of the Vanderbilt community.

Reports to: Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

2019-2020 Committee Members

Administrative/Ex Officio Members

  • Christopher Donald, University Chaplain and Director of Religious Life;
  • Candice Lee, Senior Associate Director of Student Athletics;
  • William H. Robinson, Interim Vice Provost for Strategic Initiatives, Office for Inclusive Excellence;
  • David ter Kuile, Executive Director, dining;

Faculty Members

  • Adam Meyer, associate professor of Jewish Studies, College of Arts and Science; chair;
  • Victor Anderson, Oberlin Theological School Chair, professor of African American and Diaspora Studies, College of Arts & Science, professor of ethics and society, Divinity School;
  • Issam Eido, senior lecturer, Arabic languages and literatures, College of Arts and Science;
  • Ronald Emeson, Joel G. Hardman and Mary K. Parr Chair in Pharmacology, professor of pharmacology, biochemistry, molecular physiology & biophysics, School of Medicine;
  • Gretchen Selcke, Director of Latino and Latina Studies, Senior Lecturer of Latino and Latina Studies, College of Arts & Science;
  • Sharon Shields, associate dean for professional education, professor of the practice of education and human development, Peabody College.
  • Arleen Tuchman, professor of history, College of Arts & Science


  • Zain Khera, Undergraduate
  • Ameenah McKnight, Undergraduate
  • Madelynn Roche, Undergraduate
  • Evan Suzman, Undergraduate
  • Katie Almasy, Graduate/Professional
  • Emily Carpenter, Graduate/Professional
  • Alyssa Lowery, Graduate/Professional
  • Nouha Zaabab, Graduate/Professional