Skip to main content

TIPs Council and Review Panels

Trans-Institutional Programs

About the TIPs Council

The TIPs Council was established in Fall 2015 with nine at-large members—as agreed upon by the Chancellor, the Provost, and the President and CEO of Vanderbilt University Medical Center. Membership was increased to eleven to ensure diversity across disciplines. The size of the Council helps foster genuine deliberation among a diverse set of scholars. The goals of the Council are met by ensuring broad and inclusive representation from the humanities, social sciences and natural and physical sciences.

Council goals:
Formed in response to a recommendation of the Academic Strategic Plan, the Council is charged with identifying TIPs applications that represent worthwhile investments and demonstrate the characteristics to expand and strengthen Vanderbilt’s research and teaching portfolio.

Terms of service:
Council members typically serve 2-3 year terms, but leave and new administrative duties can alter length of service. Term expirations are staggered to ensure continuity among the Council 

Selection of new members:
Potential Council members are identified by canvasing existing members and working with Deans from across all schools and colleges with academic appointments. A call for nominations is posted in the spring—self-nominations are accepted. 

TIPs Council, Cycle 2018

  • Co-chair John Geer, Vice Provost for Academic and Strategic Affairs, Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of Political Science
  • Co-chair Padma Raghavan, Vice Provost for Research, Professor of Computer Science and Computer Engineering
  • Co-chair Jennifer Pietenpol, Executive Vice President for Research, VUMC, Benjamin F. Byrd Jr. Chair in Oncology
  • Doug Adams, Daniel F. Flowers Chair, Distinguished Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Camilla Benbow, Patricia & Rhodes Hart Dean of Education & Human Development
  • William Collins, Terence E. Adderley Jr. Professor of Economics
  • Robin Fountain, Professor of Conducting
  • Susan Guttentag, Julia Carell Stadler Chair in Pediatrics
  • Kelly Haws, Associate Professor of Management
  • Nancy King, Lee S. and Charles A. Speir Professor of Law
  • Dana Nelson, Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of English
  • Bunmi Olatunji, Associate Professor of Psychology
  • Eric Skaar, Ernest W. Goodpasture Chair in Pathology
  • David Sweatt, Allan D. Bass Professor of Pharmacology
  • Susan Wente, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, ex officio
  • Jeffrey Balser, President & CEO, Vanderbilt Medical Center, Dean, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, ex officio

Note: The TIPs Review Panels for Cycle 2018 will be posted this fall

TIPs Review Panels, Cycle 2017 

TIPs Review Panel 1

  • Co-chair Sohee Park, Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of Psychology
  • Co-chair Betsy Weiner, Centennial Independence Foundation Professor of Nursing
  • John Gore, Hertha Ramsey Cress Professor of Medicine
  • Duane Watson Associate Professor of Psychology & Human Development
  • Rachel Teukolsky Associate Professor of English
  • Amy Needham, Professor of Psychology and Human Development
  • James G. Patton, Stevenson Professor of Biological Sciences
  • Steve Posavac, E. Bronson Ingram Professor of Marketing
  • Chris Slobogin, Milton R. Underwood Professor of Law
  • Keivan Stassun, Stevenson Chair in Physics
  • Lorraine Ware, Professor of Medicine
  • Bob Talisse W. Alton Jones Chair in Philosophy

TIPs Review Panel 2

  • Co-chair Nancy King, Lee S. and Charles A. Speir Professor of Law
  • Co-chair G. Kane Jennings, Professor and Chair of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Italo Biaggioni, Professor of Medicine
  • David Calkins, Denis M. O’Day, M.B.B.S., Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
  • Sarah Brown-Schmidt, Associate Professor of Psychology and Human Development
  • Brett Benson, Associate Professor of Political Science
  • Holly McCammon Professor of Sociology
  • Lynn Enterline, Nancy Perot Mulford Professor of English
  • Vaughan Jones, Stevenson Distinguished Professor of Mathematics
  • Ed Friedman Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of Spanish
  • Celia Applegate William R. Kenan Jr. Chair of History

TIPs Review Panel 3

  • Co-chair Beth Shinn, Professor of Human & Organizational Development
  • Co-chair Charles Sanders, Aileen M. Lange and Annie Mary Lyle Chair in Cardiovascular Research
  • Jimmy Byrd, Associate Professor of American Religious History
  • Kelly Haws Associate Professor of Management
  • Joel Harrington Centennial Chair of History
  • Shaul Kelner, Associate Professor ofSociology and Jewish Studies
  • David Lewis, Chair of the department and William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of Political Science
  • John McLean, Stevenson Professor of Chemistry
  • Anita Mahadevan-Jansen, Orrin H. Ingram Chair in Engineering
  • Andrea Page-McCaw, Associate Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Mel Ziegler, Chair of the department and Paul E. Shwab Chair in Fine Arts