Provost Task Force on Sexual Assault (2014-15)

The Task Force was first formed in November 2009 and has been charged with oversight of all campus offices and programs that are involved in sexual assault from the perspectives of education, prevention and treatment. The Task Force convenes at least once a semester to receive reports from the First Responders' Work Group, and serves in an advisory capacity to the Provost. It is the Task Force's primary goal to ensure that relevant campus offices and programs are working effectively and cooperatively to promote a safe and secure campus environment for all students, faculty and staff.


  • Vanessa Beasley, director, American Studies, Communication Studies; chair;
  • Mark Bandas, associate provost and dean of students, Office of the Dean of Students;
  • Elizabeth Bowman, instructor in nursing, School of Nursing;
  • Laura Carpenter, associate professor of sociology, College of Arts and Science;
  • Kelly Christie , a ssistant dean, academic programs and student life, Owen Graduate School of Management;
  • Beth Conklin, chair of anthropology, associate professor of anthropology, College of Arts & Science;
  • Cynthia Cyrus, vice provost for learning and residential affairs, professor of musicology, affiliated with faculty in women's and gender studies, Office of the Provost;
  • Chalene Helmuth, senior lecturer in Spanish and Portuguese, College of Arts & Science;
  • Anita Jenious, director, equal opportunity, affirmative action, and disability services (EAD);
  • Rolanda Johnson, associate dean for academics, associate professor, School of Nursing;
  • Maury Nation, associate professor of human and organizational development, Peabody College;
  • Rosevelt Noble, director, Bishop Joseph Johnson Black Cultural Center;
  • Kenneth Pence, associate professor of the practice, engineering management, electrical engineering and computer science, School of Engineering;
  • Florence Sanchez, associate chair, civil and environmental engineering, associate professor, civil and environmental engineering, School of Engineering;
  • Sean Seymore , professor of law, Law School;
  • Michael Slayton, assistant professor of composition and theory, Blair School of Music;
  • Tina Smith, assistant dean, intercultural affairs, LGBTQI Life and Project Safe;
  • Trudy Stringer , associate director of field education, assistant professor of the practice of ministry, Divinity School;
  • Cara Tuttle-Bell , director, Project Safe Center, Office of the Dean of Students; and
  • Sheree Wright, senior associate general counsel, Office of General Counsel.