Provost Task Force on Sexual Assault (2016-17)

The Provost Task Force on Sexual Assault (PTFSA) reviews and recommends campus strategies for prevention of sexual misconduct and intimate partner violence; serves as a liaison to local campus units on these issues; and collaborates with student groups seeking to improve the campus climate regarding sexual misconduct and intimate partner violence.  During 2016-17, focus will be on strategies for addressing the needs of graduate and professional students on Vanderbilt's campus. The PTFSA will meet at least once annually with student leaders on these issues (including VSAP).


  • Claire Smrekar, associate professor, public policy and education, Peabody College; chair;
  • Mark Bandas, associate provost and dean of students, Office of the Dean of Students;
  • G.L. Black, associate dean, Office of the Dean of Students;
  • John Braxton, professor of leadership, policy and organizations, emeritus, Peabody College;
  • Kelly Christie, assistant dean, academic programs and student life, Owen Graduate School of Management;
  • Cynthia Cyrus, vice provost for learning and residential affairs, professor of musicology, affiliated faculty in women's and gender studies, Office of the Provost;
  • Rebecca Ihrie, assistant professor of cell and developmental biology, School of Medicine-Basic Sciences;
  • Anita Jenious, director, equal opportunity, affirmative action, and disability services (EAD);
  • Rolanda Johnson, associate dean for academics, associate professor, School of Nursing;
  • Chris Meyers, director of student services, Law School;
  • Kenneth Pence, associate professor of the practice, engineering management, electrical engineering and computer science, School of Engineering;
  • Mary Romano, assistant professor, pediatrics, School of Medicine;
  • Florence Sanchez, associate chair, civil and environmental engineering, associate professor, civil and environmental engineering, School of Engineering;
  • Ruth Schemmer, assistant dean for career development, liaison to the graduate student advisory council and the graduate development network, Graduate School;
  • Trudy Stringer, associate director of field education, assistant professor of the practice of ministry, Divinity School;
  • Cara Tuttle-Bell, director, Project Safe Center, Office of the Dean of Students; and
  • Sheree Wright, senior associate general counsel, Office of the General Counsel.