National Awards & Academies Committee

The Provost's Office of Academic and Faculty Affairs created a National Awards and Academics Committee during academic year 2017-2018 and charged it with aiding the University in developing strategies to increase the recognition of our faculty in the form of national awards and membership in national academies


  • Larry Bartels, May Werthan Shayne Professor of Public Policy and Social Science
  • Ken Catania, Stevenson Professor of Biological Sciences
  • Peter Cummings, John R. Hall Chair in Chemical Engineering
  • Colin Dayan, Robert Penn Warren Professor in the Humanities
  • Tracey George, Charles B. Cox III and Lucy D. Cox Family Professor in Law and Liberty
  • Kathy Gould, Louise B. McGavock Chair in Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Cornelia Heard,  Valere Blair Potter Professor of Music
  • George Hornberger, Craig E. Philip Chair in Engineering
  • Bruce Morrill, Edward A. Malloy Professor of Catholic Studies
  • Joe Murphy, Frank W. Mayborn Chair in Peabody College
  • Sheila Ridner, Martha Rivers Ingram Chair in Nursing
  • Leona Schauble, professor of education
  • Eric Skaar, Ernest W. Goodpasture Chair in Pathology
  • Chris Slobogin, Milton R. Underwood Chair in Law
  • Bob Whaley, Valere Blair Potter Professor of Finance
  • John York, Natalie Overall Warren Chair in Biochemistry