Skip to main content


OPA Postdoctoral Fellow Advisory Committee

Mission: The Postdoctoral Fellow Advisory Committee serves as an advisory body to the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs (OPA) and includes faculty and staff from across Vanderbilt University and VUMC. The committee meets regularly and works to ensure the postdoctoral community is well supported through OPA.


  • Faith Bishop, Assistant Director, Office of Postdoctoral Affairs and Graduate and Professional Student Housing
  • James R. Booth, Patricia and Rodes Hart Professor of Psychology and Human Development
  • Elizabeth Boyd, Director of Operations, Vice Provost for Graduate Education
  • Tanya Brown, Director, HR Consulting and Labor Relations
  • Maxime Chevee, Postdoc Advocacy Chair, Vanderbilt Postdoctoral Association; Postdoctoral Scholar, Pharmacology
  • C. André Christie-Mizell, Vice Provost for Graduate Education; Director, Office of Postdoctoral Affairs; Dean of the Graduate School; Centennial Professor of Sociology
  • Ellen Goldring, Executive Associate Dean, Patricia and Rodes Hart Chair, Professor of Education and Leadership, Department of Leadership, Policy and Organizations, Peabody College
  • Kathy Gould, Senior Associate Dean for Biomedical Research, Education, and Career Development, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Louise B. McGavock Professor, Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Katherine E. Hartmann, Vice President for Research Integration; Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Scientist Development; Deputy Director, Institute for Medicine & Public Health; Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology & Medicine; Lucius E. Burch Chair, Reproductive Physiology & Family Planning
  • Caitlin Haskell, Program and Communications Manager, Office of Postdoctoral Affairs
  • E. Duco Jansen, Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Education and Faculty Affairs; Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Neurological Surgery
  • Amy Martinez, Scientific Program Officer, VUMC Office of Research
  • Rick Ohmer, Senior Director, HR Shared Services, VUMC HR Administration
  • Mariann R. Piano, Nancy and Hilliard Travis Professor of Nursing; Senior Associate Dean for Research, Postdoctoral Fellowship Director, School of Nursing
  • Jennifer A. Pietenpol, Director, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center; Executive Vice President for Research, VUMC; Benjamin F. Byrd, Jr. Professor of Oncology; Brock Family Directorship in Career Development; Professor of Biochemistry and Otolaryngology
  • Chris Vanags, Director of Research Initiatives, Peabody College of Education, Office of the Dean; Research Assistant Professor, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
  • Julie Wilbers, Director, International Student and Scholar Services
  • Richard H. Willis, Senior Associate Dean for the Faculty; Anne Marie and Thomas B. Walker, Jr., Professor of Accounting, Owen Graduate School of Management
  • David W. Wright, Dean of Graduate Education & Research, College of Arts & Science; Stevenson Professor of Chemistry