Skip to main content

Robert H. Birkby Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

The Robert H. Birkby Award is awarded to a Vanderbilt University professor of political science who exemplifies excellence in teaching marked by a commitment to inspiring undergraduate students in their pursuit for intellectual growth in the field of political science. This quality is often measured by a professor's accessibility to students, passion for his or her field, and dedication to strengthening the undergraduate political science program. The recipient is chosen by the Undergraduate Political Science Association. Beginning in 2002, the Professor Robert H. Birkby Award was presented every two years. Starting in 2017, the award became annual. It is accompanied by a monetary reward of $1,000 and a commemorative plaque. The award winner's name is added to the department plaque for ongoing recognition. The award is named after Emeritus Professor Robert H. Birkby.

The professors who have been recognized with the Robert H. Birkby Award are:

2002 Bruce I. Oppenheimer

2004 John G. Geer

2006 Marc J. Hetherington

2008 Stefanie Lindquist

2010 Jonathan Hiskey

2012 Emily C. Nacol

2014 David E. Lewis

2016 Giacomo Chiozza

2017 Carrie Archie Russell

2018 Suzanne Globetti