Skip to main content

The Department of Political Science is a diverse group of active scholars dedicated to intellectual discovery and teaching excellence.

Department News and Announcements

  • Political Science majors and graduating seniors (2020) Leah Field, Ryan Grawe, and Mary Hanna were among the 16 Vanderbilt students who received a Fulbright award for post-undergraduate English Teaching Assistantships.
  • The recipient of the Department of Political Science 2021 James L. Ray Award for outstanding leadership and service to the department and university was graduating senior Grace Allaman.
  • Jared Bauman, also of the class of 2021, received the Department of of Political Science Avery Leiserson Award for the best paper by an undergraduate AND  the Alexander Heard Award for highest grad point average.
  • Andrew Coe was awarded the 2020 Outstanding International Security Article by the International Security Section of the American Political Science Association for "Why Arms Control Is So Rare," co-authored with Jane Vaynman and published in the American Political Science Review in 2019.
  • Brad Smith was names a Cornelius Vanderbilt Dean's Faculty Fellow for 2020-2022. 
  • Brooke Ackerly was selected as a 2020-2021 Fulbright Canada Research Chair in International Studies at the Université Laval in Quebec. 
  • Cassy Dorff, Shahryar Minhas, and Max Gallop were awarded a 3-year National Science Foundation Project Grant for their project entitled "Mapping Relational Data in Civil Conflicts."
  • Emily Noh was awarded an APSA Centennial Center Research grant to help fund research for her dissertation, "Schooling and Political Engagement: A Natural Experiment in Korea."
  • Emily Ritter was awarded the Ernest A. Jones Faculty Advising Award for Social Science in March.
  • Eunji Kim received four awards from various organizations including the 2020 Best Dissertation Award in Political Pshchology, the Paul Lazarsfield Best Paper Award, and the Wilson Carey McWilliams Best Paper Award, all from the American Political Science Association. Eunji also received the 2020 Roberta Sigel Early Career Scholar Paper Award from the International Society of Political Psychology. 
  • Eunji Kim was named a Carter Family Dean's Faculty Fellow (2020-2022) by Vanderbilt University, a Vanderbilt Global Voices Fellow (2021 Spring), and a NextGen Scholar (2020-2021) by the Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS).
  • Georgia Anderson-Nilsson was awarded the 2019-2020 Erwin Hargrove Outstanding Teaching Assitant by Vanderbilt's Department of Political Science.
  • John Sides'  The Monkey Cage received a major grant from the Carnegie Corporation.
  • Keith Weghorst and Eunji Kim were both recipients of Vanderbilt University's COVID-19 Innovative Teaching awards.
  • Keith Weghorst and Josh Clinton were the co-recipients of the Department of Political Science's 2021 Robert H. Birkby Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.
  • Liz Zechmeister was awarded a National Science Foundation Research Grant for her project, "Hazard Events, Risk Perception and Public Support for Disaster Risk Reduction in the Americas."
  • Michael Shepherd and Marc Trussler received the 2020 Timothy E. Cook Best Graduate Student Paper award from APSA's Political Communication Section for their paper "Look Up at the Mansion on the Hill: Does Mass Media Activate the Politics of Resentment?"
  • Michael Shepherd was awarded the 2019-2020 Best Graduate Student Paper Award by Vanderbilt's Department of Political Science for his paper "The Politics of Pain: Medicaid Expansion and the Opioid Epidemic."
  • Mitch Seligson received the Helen Dinerman Award from the World Association for Public Opinion Research for his "significant contributions to survey research methodology."
  • Sharece Thrower and her co-authors received the Jewell-Lowenberg Prize for best paper on subnational legislatures in Legislative Studies Quarterly for her article entitled "Legislative Constraints on Executive Unilateralism in Separation of Powers Systems."
  • Stella Sechopoulos (Vanderbilt BA in Political Science, 2020) was awarded the 2020 Janet A. Harkness Award from the World Association for Public Opinion Research for her paper entitled "Tolerance of Domestic Violence Against Women in Latin America: A Culture of Violence Driving a Culture of Acceptance."


Upcoming Events