Skip to main content

The Department of Political Science is a diverse group of active scholars dedicated to intellectual discovery and teaching excellence.

Department News and Announcements

  • Allison Anoll received the Faculty Partner of the Year Award, Office of Housing and Residential Education at Vanderbilt University for work with the Mayfield Living Learning Community Project: “Between the Bars”
  • Allison Anoll served as faculty mentor for VU Political Science (and Special Education) major, Nicholas Ainsworth, and his award winning research at Vanderbilt Undergraduate Research Fair. Nicholas received an award for his research presentation entitled "What Determines People's Attitudes Towards Transit?"
  • Kaitlen Cassell was awarded a $3,000 Summer Research Award by Vanderbilt University
  • Jennifer Larson won the Best Paper award given by AJPS for the best article published in an issue of AJPS in 2017, for her article “Ethnic Networks” co-authored with Janet Lewis.
  • Noam Lupu received the Gregory Leubbert Article Award (with Leonid Peisakhin), Comparative Politics section of APSA.
  • The AmericasBarometer received the Lijphart/Przeworski/Verba Dataset Award from APSA’s Comparative Politics Section, with the award presented to its faculty PIs – Noam Lupu, Mitch Seligson, and Liz Zechmeister – at the 2018 APSA meeting in Boston.
  • Kristin Michelitch was named the winner of 2018 Best Paper Award, from APSA Section Experimental Political Science.
  • Marc Trussler received the Timothy E. Cook Award for Best Graduate Student Paper from APSA Political Communications Section
  • Sheahan Virgin was awarded Vanderbilt University's College of Arts & Science Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Assistant Award
  • Alan Wiseman was awarded a grant from The Democracy Fund for the “Center for Effective Lawmaking” ($150,000).
  • Kristin Michelitch's research appeared in Vanderbilt's article, "Study: Transparency, competition key to improving legislators’ performance"
  • Bruce Oppenheimer recently appeared on News Channel 5’s Inside Politics to discuss the government shut down, tax legislation, and the upcoming midterm elections.
  • John Geer and Josh Clinton held a press conference in December as part of the release of the latest results from the Tennessee Poll, a project housed in the Department of Political Science.
  • James Booth was invited to speak at the American Philosophical Association Annual Meeting in January on “Why Monuments Matter.” James also will give a lecture entitled “Addressing Historical Injustice” to the University of Virginia’s Department of Political Science in February 2018.
  • Josh Clinton was invited to participate in the Russell Sage Foundation and Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Conference on the Social, Political, and Economic Effects of the Affordable Care Act in New York.
  • An article by Mitch Seligson and Orlando Pérez, entitled “Hondurans are in the streets because they don’t believe their election results” appeared in the online blog Monkey Cage on December 19, 2017.
  • Jon Hiskey was invited to participate in a two-day workshop entitled “Protecting the Rights of Individuals Fleeing Conflict: The Role of Scientists, Engineers, and Health Professionals,” sponsored by the Committee on Human Rights of the U.S. National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. Washington, D.C., December 7-8, 2017.
  • Along with many of the department’s faculty, a large contingent of our graduate students will be heading to Chicago in April for the 76th annual Midwest Political Science Association Conference. Among those presenting papers at the meeting will be Adam Wolsky, Oscar Castorena, Drew Engelhardt, Bryce Williams-Tuggle, Claire Evans. James Martherus, Maggie Deichert, Michael Shepherd, HeeJu Jang, Marc Trussler, and Scott Limbocker
  • Dave Lewis was named President of the Southern Political Science Association for 2018.


Upcoming Events