Skip to main content

Spring 2009 Category

Peabody Reflector Staff – Spring 2009 Issue

Jun. 11, 2009—Visit Peabody College’s Web site at Bonnie Arant Ertelt, Editor Donna Pritchett, Art Director Michael Smeltzer, Designer Lew Harris, Assistant Editor Nelson Bryan, Class Notes Editor Lacy Tite, Web Edition Design and Development Contributors: Geordie Brackin, Kurt Brobeck, Xiu Cravens, Jennie Edwards, Jennifer Johnston, Melanie Moran, Ann Marie Deer Owens, Jim Patterson, Jan Read,...

Read more

Peabody alum new dean of Vanderbilt libraries

Jun. 11, 2009—Connie Vinita Dowell, M.L.S.’79, with three decades of experience working in academic libraries, began her new position as the university’s first dean of libraries in March. Dowell previously served as dean of the library and information access at San Diego State University.  Under Dowell’s leadership, Vanderbilt will initiate a comprehensive study of its libraries, with...

Read more

New Faculty

Jun. 11, 2009—Two new faculty members, both in the Department of Psychology and Human Development, joined Peabody College in January. Professor Amy Needham, whose research emphasizes cognitive, motor and perceptual development in infants, came from Duke University.  Professor Bruce McCandliss conducts studies using fMRI and other technologies that place him on the leading edge of developmental cognitive neuroscience....

Read more

Peabody earns No. 1 ranking

Jun. 11, 2009—Peabody College of education and human development is the best graduate school of its kind in the nation, according to rankings released by U.S. News & World Report. “We are very pleased by this ranking, which speaks to the high quality of the college and especially our faculty, our students and our staff,” said Dean...

Read more

Susan Gray School honored with national accreditation

Jun. 11, 2009—The Susan Gray School has achieved national reaccreditation by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC). Susan Gray School is one of the first programs in the nation to achieve reaccreditation under new, more extensive and more stringent NAEYC standards, which were released in the fall of 2006.  Trying to find the...

Read more

Susan Gray School cuts ribbon on new fully accessible playground

Jun. 11, 2009—The Susan Gray School for Children dedicated the new Finan Family Playground as part of Peabody homecoming weekend activities last October. Above, Kelly Finan, BS’09, with assistance from David Williams, vice chancellor for university affairs and athletics, cuts the ribbon. The playground was made possible by Tom and Mary K. Finan, parents of Kelly, Vanderbilt...

Read more

Vanderbilt named among Fortune 100 Best Companies

Jun. 11, 2009—For the first time Vanderbilt has been named one of the top 100 best places to work in the United States in Fortune magazine’s annual survey. It is the first educational institution to be named to the list.  The No. 98 ranking released in the February 2 issue encompasses approximately 21,000 employees at Vanderbilt University...

Read more

Peabody Reflector wins CASE award

Jun. 11, 2009—For the second year in a row, the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) recognized the Peabody Reflector in January during its annual District III competition. The magazine won a Special Merit Award in the Alumni Magazines I division.

Read more

Students win national awards

Jun. 11, 2009—Tracy Cummings, a graduate student in the Experimental Education Research and Training program, received the NASA Science Engineering Mathematics Aerospace Academy Award in Washington, D.C., last September. The Science Engineering Mathematics Aerospace Academy (SEMAA) is a national program with 22 sites in 17 states. Cummings worked with a team that was awarded a grant to...

Read more

Faculty News

Jun. 11, 2009—Dean Camilla Benbow and Claire Smrekar, associate professor of public policy and education, participated on the panel “To Ph.D. or Ed.D.? That is the Question” at the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education’s annual meeting. Janet Eyler, professor of the practice of education and director of undergraduate studies for the Department of Leader-ship, Policy...

Read more

Upcoming Events