Skip to main content

Awards and Achievements

Posted by on Monday, February 13, 2017 in Around the Mall, Issue, Winter 2017.

Sandra Barnes, professor of human and organizational development, was named assistant vice chancellor for equity, diversity and inclusion at Vanderbilt, reporting to Vice Chancellor for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer George C. Hill. She continues teaching and conducting research as a faculty member at Peabody and the Divinity School.

Erin Barton, PhD’07, assistant professor of special education, received a three-year, $1.5 million grant from the Institute of Education Sciences to develop and test a mobile app, the Family Behavior Support App. FBSapp will support parents in addressing challenging behaviors exhibited by their young children with disabilities. In addition, Barton was selected for the Distinguished Early Career Research Award by the Council for Exceptional Children’s Division of Research.

Elizabeth E. Biggs, doctoral student in special education, received the 2016 Alice H. Hayden Emerging Leader Award from TASH, an organization committed to equity, opportunity and inclusion for people with severe disabilities.

Angela Boatman, assistant professor of public policy and higher education, was a featured speaker at a conference hosted by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System in November. Her presentation was on student loan debt.

John M. Braxton, professor of higher education, was the recipient of the Association for the Study of Higher Education’s 2016 Research Achievement Award.

Scott Brown, a doctoral student in community, research and action, was granted a Doris Duke Fellowship for the Promotion of Child Well-Being by the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation. He has studied homelessness with Marybeth Shinn, professor of human and organizational development.

Bridget Burns, a doctoral student in the Higher Education Leadership and Policy program, was named to the “Sixteen Most Innovative People in Higher Education” list released by Washington Monthly. She is the founder of a consortium of universities working to find solutions for low-income, first-generation and minority college students.

Erik Carter, MEd’98, PhD’04, professor of special education, received the 2016 Research Award from the Council for Exceptional Children’s Division on Autism and Developmental Disabilities.

Anjali Forber-Pratt, assistant professor of human and organizational development; and Carol Nixon, research assistant professor of human and organizational development, were awarded a $212,000 grant by the Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation to evaluate the foundation’s Paralysis Resource Center.

Donna Y. Ford, professor of special education, was named section editor of the Education of Diverse Learners section for The Journal of Negro Education. Ford also was selected for the 2016 Gifted and Special Populations Award by the Special Populations Network.

Dale Farran, Antonio M. and Anita S. Gotto Professor of Teaching and Learning, was named to the 47-member transition team for new Metro Nashville Public Schools Director of Schools Shawn Joseph. She serves on the Student Achievement Committee.

Lynn S. Fuchs and Douglas H. Fuchs, professors of special education, were honored at a ceremony for endowed chairs in September at the Student Life Center. Formerly, they jointly held the Nicholas Hobbs Chair. Lynn now holds the Dunn Family Chair in Psychoeducational Assessment and Douglas retains the Nicholas Hobbs Chair.

Ellen Goldring, Patricia and Rodes Hart Professor of Education Policy and Leadership and chair of the Department of Leadership, Policy and Organizations, received the Council for Educational Administration’s Roald F. Campbell Lifetime Achievement Award for 2016.

Christopher Lemons, Ph.D.’08, assistant professor of special education, was presented the Distinguished Early Career Research Award by the Council for Exceptional Children’s Division of Research and received the 2016 Pueschel-Tjossem Memorial Research Award from the National Down Syndrome Congress. He also co-wrote a paper on the importance of replication in special education research, which was published by the Institute of Education Science’s Inside IES Research.

Mark Lipsey, research professor of human and organizational development, was named to the Tennessee Juvenile Justice Realignment Task Force. Lipsey also leads a new partnership with the government of Queensland, Australia, to address the state’s escalating juvenile delinquency problem. Collaborators are research associates Gabrielle Chapman, Jill Robinson and Deanna Meador.

Velma McBride Murry, the Lois Autrey Betts Professor of Education and Humanities, has co-authored a series of papers on the importance of health equity as a matter of justice for marginalized groups, published by the National Academy of Medicine. Collaborators include researchers at University of Virginia, the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai and McDaniel College.

Maury Nation, associate professor of human and organizational development, was awarded a $5 million grant by the National Institute of Justice to conduct the Nashville Longitudinal Study of Youth Safety and Wellbeing. The study is designed to build upon and measure the effectiveness of Nashville Mayor Megan Barry’s efforts to curb youth violence. It is a partnership with the mayor’s office, Metro Nashville Public Schools and the Oasis Center.

Next Steps at Vanderbilt’s Ambassadores program was inducted into the Susan M. Daniels Disability Mentoring Hall of Fame at the National Disability Mentoring Coalition in New York City last fall.

Michelle Reising Scobey, assistant professor of the practice and co-director of the M.Ed. clinical psychological assessment program, was presented the Emerging Leader award by the Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce and the Young Professionals Network of Nashville.

Matthew G. Springer, assistant professor of public policy and education, was the keynote speaker at the 2016 Excellence Education Innovation Lab, hosted by Excellence: North Carolina’s Education Vision.

Tamra Stambaugh, research professor and director of Programs for Talented Youth, won a Network Curriculum Award from the National Association of Gifted Children with her writing partner Emily Mofield.

Joseph Wehby, associate professor and chair of special education, was awarded a $1.5 million, three-year grant from the Institute of Educational Sciences to address behavioral problems in classrooms. It is a partnership with Lehigh University.

Visit Peabody’s website to learn more.


Upcoming Events