Skip to main content

Four named AERA fellows

Posted by on Thursday, July 5, 2012 in Around the Mall, Summer 2012.

Joseph Murphy
Richard Lehrer
Steve Graham
Lynn Fuchs

The American Educational Research Association has selected four Peabody faculty members to be AERA Fellows. Lynn Fuchs, Steve Graham, Richard Lehrer and Joseph Murphy are among 36 scholars nationwide named to the 2012 class in recognition of their exceptional scientific or scholarly contributions to education research or significant contributions to the field through the development of research opportunities and settings.

“We are thrilled to see four members of the Peabody faculty recognized for their longstanding contributions to education research,” said Dean Benbow. “Together with other members of the faculty previously chosen as fellows, they demonstrate Vanderbilt’s impact on the field.”

Fuchs, Nicholas Hobbs Professor in Special Education and Human Development, focuses her research on instructional practice and assessment of student progress for students with reading and other disabilities.

Graham, Currey Ingram Professor of Special Education and Literacy, researches learning disabilities, writing instruction and writing development.

Lehrer, Frank W. Mayborn Professor of Education, researches children’s mathematical and scientific reasoning in the context of schooling, with a special emphasis on tools and notations for developing thought.

Murphy, also Frank W. Mayborn Professor of Education, works in the area of school improvement, with special emphasis on leadership and policy.

These new fellows join eight previously inducted AERA fellows from Peabody, including: Camilla Benbow, Patricia and Rodes Hart Dean of Education and Human Development; Paul Cobb, Peabody Professor of Teaching and Learning, professor of education; David Dickinson, professor of education; Dale Farran, professor of education and psychology; Douglas Fuchs, Nicholas Hobbs Professor of Special Education and Human Development; Ellen Goldring, Patricia and Rodes Hart Professor of Education Policy and Leadership; Karen R. Harris, Currey Ingram Professor of Special Education and Literacy; and Daniel Reschly, professor of education and psychology.


Upcoming Events