Skip to main content

Awards and Honors

Posted by on Monday, January 23, 2012 in Around the Mall, Issue, Winter 2012.









Leonard Bickman, Betts Professor of Psychology, received the American Evaluation Association’s 2011 Alva and Gunnar Myrdal Evaluation Practice Award, given to an evaluator who exemplifies outstanding evaluation practice and has made substantial cumulative contributions to the field.

Vera Chatman, professor of the practice of human and organizational development, received the 2011 Excellence in Reviewing Award from Academic Medicine, the official peer-reviewed journal of the Association of American Medical Colleges.

Sun-Joo Cho, assistant professor of psychology, quantitative methods and evaluation, received an award for outstanding application of educational measurement technology from the National Council on Measurement
in Education.


Sue Erickson, interim director, Peabody Library, was appointed 2011-12 co-chair of the education committee of the Library Management and Administration Association’s measurement, assessment and evaluation section.


Donna Ford, professor of special education, received the Outstanding Service Award from the Association for the Gifted, Council for Exceptional Children.

Carolyn Hughes, professor of special education, was among 10 researchers nationwide recognized by the American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities for “exceptional service to the field.” The researchers were recognized for authoring the Supports Intensity Scale, designed to assess the support needs of children with intellectual disabilities. Hughes also has been appointed to the editorial board of the Journal of Vocational Rehabilitation.

Lyle Jackson, videographer for Peabody College, received awards in the script and education categories of the 32nd Annual Telly Awards, which honor outstanding local, regional and cable TV commercials and programs, video and film productions and Web commercials, videos and films. The winning piece featured Peabody Professor Velma Murry and her research on African American success in rural areas.

Richard Milner, associate professor of education, has been named senior editor of Urban Education, which publishes hard-hitting, focused analyses of critical concerns facing inner-city schools and provides thought-provoking discussions on key issues from gender-balanced and racially diverse perspectives. Milner is the third editor since the journal’s inception in 1964.

Velma McBride Murry, Betts Professor of Education and Human Development, was asked to serve on a National Institutes of Health study section on community influences in health behavior.

Kimberly Paulsen, associate professor of the practice of special education, received the David Schleyer Faculty Award recognizing outstanding student mentoring.

Bethany Rittle-Johnson, associate professor of psychology, received the Peabody Award for Excellence in Research.

Marybeth Shinn, professor of human, organizational and community development, was appointed to the social sciences and population study section of the National Institutes of Health Center for Scientific Review.

Paul Yoder, professor of special education, led a Prelinguistic Milieu Teaching workshop in Turkey to a handpicked group of faculty, doctoral students and psychology, special education, and speech and language pathology professionals at Ankara University.


Upcoming Events