Skip to main content

Advisory Board and Committees

The Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at Vanderbilt is truly a member-run organization. We'd like to thank all of our current and past volunteers and invite members to join us in ensuring the sustainability of the program for years to come. To inquire about volunteering, please visit volunteer opportunities.

Advisory Board Members

Description: Led by the President and OLLI Director, the Advisory Board ensures that the activities and programs of OLLI at Vanderbilt 1) align with the mission and values of the Osher Foundation and Vanderbilt University and 2) respond to the experiences and aspirations of OLLI members. 

K Garthwaite

Kathy Garthwaite


Robert Smith
Acting, President-Elect


Eileen Beehan
At-Large Director


Jan Goddard
Chair, Classroom Assistance


Betsy Hay
Past President

 Kathy I

Kathy Ingleson
Chair, Special Events

Shared Interest Groups Liaison 


Steve Williams
At-Large Director



Classroom Assistance Committee

Description: Members of the Classroom Assistance Committee provide a welcoming and professional presence by assisting instructors and members to facilitate a positive OLLI experience.

Committee Chair: Jan Goddard
Assistant Chair: Pat Holdridge 

Curriculum Committee

Description: Members of the Curriculum Committee utilize the course evaluations from prior terms to plan new and exciting course series every term.

Committee Members: Carole Bucy, Judy Jean Chapman, Frank Dobson, Kathy Garthwaite, Betsy Hay, Kitty Porter, Virginia Shepherd, Keith Simmons, Celia Walker and Robert Smith

Special Events Committee

Description: Members of the Special Events Committee plan and help to coordinate outings, and Annual Meeting.

Chair: Kathy Ingleson
Committee Members: Karen Davis, Margaret Hamrick, Ed Hoge, Lisa Otten and Jill Perigo

Nominating Committee

Description:  Recruit OLLI Advisory Board members
Chair:  Robert Smith
Committee Members:  
Director:  Norma Clippard
President: Kathy Garthwaite
Past President: Betsy Hay
President-Elect: Robert Smith