Skip to main content

Vandy Votes Committee

Committee Overview

Created in 2018, Vandy Votes is a student-led committee that is dedicated to increasing voter registration and turnout, and overall civic engagement, in the Vanderbilt community through collaboration with students, faculty and staff. At full capacity, the Vandy Votes committee is structured with an executive committee of nine students including an executive chair, and co-chairs for each of the four subcommittees that are responsible for communications, strategic planning, education and advocacy, and voter registration and turnout. To date, the Vandy Votes committee has been involved in hosting voter registration drives, absentee ballot parties, presidential and vice presidential candidate debate watch parties, meaningful interactions with your candidate workshops, and constitution week activities on campus.

2020-2021 Executive Committee Members

Communications Chair

Frances Lavey – Junior (Class of 2022 – Nashville, TN)

Major(s): Political Science & Medicine, Health, and Society (Mathematics Minor)


Education & Advocacy Chair

Tess Ostroff – Junior (Class of 2022 – Summit, NJ)

Major(s): Political Science


Voter Registration & Turnout Chair

Cassidy Latchford – Sophomore (Class of 2023 – Naperville, IL)

Major(s): Public Policy & Medicine, Health, and Society