The Politics of Health (2013) Schedule


Thursday, October 3, 2013
Location: Student Life Center, Board of Trust Room
310 25th Ave N, Nashville, TN 37203

2:00 pm Welcome, Carolyn Dever (Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, Vanderbilt)
2:20 Introductory Remarks, Jonathan Metzl (Director, MHS, Vanderbilt)
2:45 Opening Address, Emilie Townes (Dean, Divinity School, Vanderbilt)
3:30-5:00 PANEL I: Health and Social Justice

• Jonathan Metzl (MHS, Vanderbilt)
• Laura Stark (MHS, Vanderbilt)
• Andre Churchwell (Professor of Cardiology, Associate Dean for Diversity, School of Medicine, Vanderbilt)
• Manish Sethi (Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation Orthopaedic Trauma, Vanderbilt School of Medicine)
• Christopher Coleman (Staff Attorney, Tennessee Justice Center)
• Melinda Buntin (Chair, Health Policy, Vanderbilt School of Medicine)
• Arthur Sutherland III (Chairman, Tennessee Physicians for a National Health Program)

5:00 Plenary Address, Day 1
• Linda Norman (Dean, Vanderbilt University School of Nursing)
• Sue Siegel (CEO, Market Innovations, General Electric (GE))
6:30 Party
Fat Bottom Brewery
900 Main Street, Nashville, TN 37206
(615) 678-5715

Friday, October 4, 2013
Location: Commons Center MPR 235/237
230 Appleton Drive, Nashville, TN 37212

9:30 am Student-Led Panel: The Future of Health

Student Organizers:
• Max Brodsky
• Kate Lintel
• Jordaan McGill
• Members of the MHS Student Advisory Board
• Priscilla Wald (Professor, English Department, Duke University)
Faculty Discussants:
• JuLeigh Petty (Assistant Director, MHS Vanderbilt)
• Tony Brown (Associate Professor, Sociology, Vanderbilt)
• Hector Myers (MHS, Vanderbilt)
• Sten Vermund (Director, Institute for Global Health, Vanderbilt)

11-12:40 PANEL II: Health Infrastructure

• Ken MacLeish (MHS, Vanderbilt)
• Milton Curry (Associate Dean, Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning, University of Michigan)
• Susan Cahn (William S. Vaughn Visiting Fellow, Robert Penn Warren Center, Vanderbilt)
• Aimi Hamraie (MHS, Vanderbilt)
• Jay Clayton (Director, The Curb Center for Art, Enterprise, and Public Policy, Vanderbilt)
• Julia Landstreet (Executive Director, Nashville Civic Design Center)
• Kitt Carpenter (Economics, Vanderbilt)

12:45 LUNCH (catered)
2:00-3:30 PANEL III: Social Foundations of Health
• Derek Griffith (MHS, Vanderbilt)
• Dominique Behague (MHS, Vanderbilt)
• Tyrone Forman (Sociology, Director, James Weldon Johnson Institute for the Study of Race & Difference, Emory University)
• Monique Lyle (Department of Political Science, Vanderbilt)
• Reavis L. Mitchell Jr. (History, Dean, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, Fisk University)
• Lindsey Andrews (MHS, Vanderbilt)
• Arleen Tuchman (History, Vanderbilt)
• Amy Non (MHS, Vanderbilt)

3:45 Plenary Address, Day 2
• Frank Dobson (Director, Black Cultural Center, Vanderbilt)
• Priscilla Wald (English, Duke University)

4:30 Plans for the Future
Laura Stark and Jonathan Metzl (MHS, Vanderbilt)

5:00 Closing Reception
The Center for Medicine, Health, and Society
Calhoun Hall, Suite 300

7:30 Dinner
Woodlands Indian Vegetarian Cuisine
3415 West End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203
(615) 463-3005