Joint-Appointed Faculty

Anthropology

Beth Conklin
Associate Professor
Department of Anthropology profile

beth.e.conklin@vanderbilt.edu

  • Medical anthropology
  • Anthropology of the body
  • Cannibalism
  • Death and mourning
Thomas Gregor
Emeritus
Department of Anthropology profile

Thomas.a.gregor@vanderbilt.edu

  • Psychological anthropology
  • Gender roles and sexuality
  • Peace and aggression
  • Psychoanalysis and culture
Norbert Ross
Associate Professor
Department of Anthropology profile

norbert.o.ross@vanderbilt.edu

  • Cognitive anthropology
  • Culture and cognition
  • Children’s acquisition of cultural knowledge
  • Cultural change
Tiffiny Tung
Associate Professor
Department of Anthropology profile

tiffiny.tung@vanderbilt.edu

  • Bioarchaeology
  • Paleopathology
  • Violence-related trauma
  • Ritual uses of the human body and body parts
  • Imperialism

Biological Sciences

Julián F. Hillyer
Assistant Professor
Hillyer Lab profile

julian.hillyer@vanderbilt.edu

  • Mosquito immunology and physiology
  • Host-parasite interactions
Carl H. Johnson
Stevenson Professor
Johnson Laboratory profile

carl.h.johnson@Vanderbilt.Edu

  • Cellular and Molecular Biology of Biological Clocks
Laurence Zwiebel
Professor
Zwiebel Lab profile

l.zwiebel@Vanderbilt.Edu

  • Comprehensive study of olfaction and olfactory-based behaviors in malaria and other disease vector mosquitoes

Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering

Kevin T. Seale
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Biomedical Engineering

kevin.t.seale@vanderbilt.edu

  • Searle Systems Biology and Bioengineering Undergraduate Research Experience

Chemistry

David W. Wright
Stevenson Professor
Department of Chemistry profile

 

david.wright@vanderbilt.edu

  • Design, synthesis and characterization of organic templates capable of mediating the growth of biological important biominera

Economics

Kathryn Anderson
Professor of Economics
Department of Economics profile

 

kathryn.anderson@vanderbilt.edu

  • Labor and economic development

English

Jay Clayton
William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor
Department of English profile

jay.clayton@vanderbilt.edu

  • Victorian literature
  • Genetics and literature
  • Digital technology and online narratives
  • Contemporary fiction
Kate Daniels
Professor of English & Creative Writing
Department of English profile

kate.daniels@vanderbilt.edu

  • Creative Writing: Poetry
  • 19th & 20th Century American Poetry
  • Women’s Poetry
  • Psychoanalysis and Poetry
Leah Marcus
Edwin Mims Professor of English
Department of English profile

l.marcus@vanderbilt.edu

  • Literature and medicine
  • Constructions of the body

Ethnomusicology

Gregory F. Barz
Professor of Musicology (Ethnomusicology); Associate Professor of Religion
Blair School of Music profile

gregory.barz@vanderbilt.edu

  • Medical ethnomusicologist specializing in music and medicine in sub-Saharan Africa

French and Italian

Nathalie Dieu-Porter
Academic Director, Center for Second Language Studies
Department of French and Italian profile

nathalie.d.porter@vanderbilt.edu

  • Second language acquisition
  • Bilingual studies
  • Medical French in Intercultural Contexts
  • Business
  • Comparative study of medicine and healthcare systems
  • Translation and interpretation

German

John McCarthy
Professor Emeritus of German and Comparative Literature, Professor of European Studies
Department of German, Russian, and East European Studies profile

john.a.mccarthy@vanderbilt.edu

  • Goethe and the life sciences
  • Poet doctors
  • Mental and physical health in literature
  • Genetics and Guenter Grass

History

Michael Bess

Chancellor’s Professor of History, Professor of European Studies
Department of History profile

m.bess@vanderbilt.edu

  • History of the social and ethical implications of technological change
  • 20th-century European history
Katherine Crawford
Cornelius Vanderbilt Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies and History
Department of History profile

 

katherine.b.crawford@vanderbilt.edu

  • Gender and sexuality
  • France
  • Early modern Europe
  • Visual and popular culture
Dennis C. Dickerson

James M. Lawson, Jr. Professor of History
Department of History profile

dennis.c.dickerson@vanderbilt.edu

  • 19th & 20th century American history and African American history labor
  • Religion
  • U. S. civil rights movement
Sarah Igo

Associate Professor of History, Associate Professor of Political Science; Associate, Professor of Sociology; Associate Professor of Law, Director American Studies Program
Department of History profile

sarah.igo@vanderbilt.edu

  • Modern American cultural and intellectual history
  • The history of the human sciences, the sociology of knowledge
  • The history of the public sphere
Jane Landers

Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of History
Department of History profile

jane.landers@vanderbilt.edu

  • History of colonial Latin America
  • Atlantic World
  • Afro-circum-Caribbean borderlands
  • Comparative slave systems
  • Women and gender in colonial Latin America
Ruth Rogaski

Associate Professor of History; Affiliated Faculty, Asian Studies Program; Co-Director Vanderbilt History Seminar
Department of History profile

ruth.rogaski@vanderbilt.edu

  • History of Qing and 20-century China
  • History of medicine and science
  • Women and gender
  • 19th and 20th century social and cultural history
Arleen Marcia Tuchman

Professor of History
Department of History profile

arleen.m.tuchman@vanderbilt.edu

  • History of science and medicine
  • History of disease
  • Gender and sexuality
  • Culture and the body

Human and Organizational Development (Peabody College)

Sharon Shields
Associate Dean for Professional Education, Office of the Dean; Professor of the Practice & Associate Dean, Dept. of Human & Organizational Development
Peabody College profile

sharon.l.shields@vanderbilt.edu

  • Community health and human issues

Philosophy

Lenn E. Goodman
Professor of Philosophy, Andrew W. Mellon Professor in the Humanities
Department of Philosophy profile

lenn.e.goodman@vanderbilt.edu

  • Metaphysics
  • Ethics
  • Islamic and Jewish Philosophy
  • Political Philosophy
  • Medieval Philosophy
John Lachs
Centennial Professor of Philosophy
Department of Philosophy profile

john.lachs@vanderbilt.edu

  • Metaphysics
  • Philosophy of mind
  • Political philosophy
  • Ethics

Psychology

Richard C. McCarty
Professor of Psychology
Department of Psychology profile

richard.mccarty@vanderbilt.edu

  • Physiological and behavioral adaptions to stress and factors contributing to development of hypertension
Timothy P. McNamara
Professor of Psychology
Department of Psychology profile

t.mcnamara@vanderbilt.edu

  • Mechanisms of memory retrieval
  • Spatial memory
  • Text comprehension
David G. Schlundt
Associate Professor of Psychology
Department of Psychology profile

d.schlundt@vanderbilt.edu

  • Nutrition and behavior in chronic disease
  • Health disparities

Psychology and Human Development (Peabody College)

Bruce Compas
Patricia and Rodes Hart Chair of Psychology and Human Development; Professor of Pediatrics; Investigator, Vanderbilt Kennedy Center for Research on Human Development
Psychological Sciences profile

bruce.compas@vanderbilt.edu

  • Processes of coping and self-regulation in response to stress and adversity in children, adolescents, and adults
Kathleen Hoover-Dempsey
Professor of Psychology & Human Development, Emerita
Psychological Sciences profile

kathleen.v.hoover-dempsey@vanderbilt.edu

  • Parental involvement in children’s and adolescents’ education and the influence of family engagement on student learning outcomes

Religious Studies

Volney P. Gay
Professor of Psychiatry,
Professor of Religious Studies,
Professor of Anthropology

Department of Religious Studies profile

Volney.P.Gay@Vanderbilt.edu

Sociology

Karen E. Campbell

Associate Professor of Sociology Emerita; Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education, College of Arts and Science; Affiliated Faculty, Women and Gender Studies
Department of Sociology profile

karen.e.campbell@vanderbilt.edu

  • Gender Inequality
  • Occupations and Professions
  • Social Networks
Laura M. Carpenter

Associate Professor of Sociology
Department of Sociology profile

l.carpenter@vanderbilt.edu

  • Gender, Sex & Sexuality
  • Health and Medicine,
  • Aging and the Life Course,
  • Qualitative Methods
  • Mass Media and Journalism
C. André Christie-Mizell

Professor of Sociology;
Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education,College of Arts and Science;
Health Policy Associate, Center for Health Policy at Meharry Medical College;
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Medicine, Health and Society
Department of Sociology profile

andre.christie-mizell@vanderbilt.edu

  • Social Psychology
  • Physical and Mental Health
  • Family
  • Race/Ethnicity
  • Statistics
  • Quantitative Methods
Katharine M. Donato

Professor of Sociology; Affiliated Faculty, Political Science; Affiliated Faculty, Women and Gender Studies
Department of Sociology profile

katharine.donato@vanderbilt.edu

  • International Migration between Mexico and the U.S.
  • Social Determinants of Health
  • Immigrants in the U.S. Economy
  • Ethnic and Gender Stratification
R. Jay Turner

Harvie Branscomb Distinguished Professor of Sociology Emeritus; Affiliated Professor and Psychiatric Director, Center for Research on Health Disparities
Department of Sociology profile

r.jay.turner@vanderbilt.edu

  • Mental Health/Substance Use Problems
  • Psychiatric Epidemiology

Spanish and Portuguese

Lori Catanzaro
Senior Lecturer
Department of Spanish & Portuguese profile

lori.catanzaro@vanderbilt.edu

  • Spanish and Portuguese
  • Spanish for the Medical Professions
Benigno Trigo
Department Chair; Professor of Spanish
Department of Spanish & Portuguese profile

benigno.trigo@vanderbilt.edu

  • 19th-Century Spanish American Literature
  • Literary Theory
  • Modernism, and Psychoanalysis

Vanderbilt Divinity School

Victor Anderson
Oberlin Theological School Professor of Ethics and Society; Professor of the Program in African American and Diaspora Studies and Religious Studies
Divinity School profile

victor.anderson@vanderbilt.edu

Vanderbilt Law School

James F. Blumstein
University Professor of Constitutional Law and Health Law & Policy; Professor of Management, Owen Graduate School of Management; Director, Vanderbilt Health Policy Center
Law School profile

james.blumstein@vanderbilt.edu

  • Health law and public policy
  • Constitutional law
Joni Hersch
Professor of Law and Economics; Co-Director, Ph.D. Program in Law and Economics
Law School profile

joni.hersch@vanderbilt.edu

  • Labor Economics
  • Discrimination
  • Law and Economics
W. Kip Viscusi
University Distinguished Professor of Law, Economics, and Management; Co-Director, Ph.D. Program in Law and Economics
Law School profile

kip.viscusi@vanderbilt.edu

  • Tort reform
  • Risk and insurance
  • Law and economics

Owen Graduate School of Management

Bart Victor
Cal Turner Professor of Moral Leadership
Owen Graduate School of Management profile

bart.victor@owen.vanderbilt.edu

  • Ethics and Social Responsibility
  • Communications
  • Organization Studies
Tim Vogus
Associate Professor of Management
Owen Graduate School of Management profile

timothy.vogus@owen.vanderbilt.edu

  • Organization Studies
  • Health Care

Vanderbilt Schools of Medicine and Nursing

Medicine

Carolyn M. Audet
Assistant Professor, Department of Health Policy
School of Medicine profile

carolyn.m.audet@vanderbilt.edu

  • Understanding health seeking behavior and traditional treatment practices in resource limited settings
Frank H. Boehm
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology; Associate Professor of Radiology and Radiological Sciences
School of Medicine profile

frank.boehm@vanderbilt.edu

Joseph Burton Fanning
Assistant Professor of Medicine
School of Medicine profile

joe.fanning@vanderbilt.edu

  • Understanding the connections between clinical ethics and the skills that promote strong clinician-patient relationships
George C. Hill
Professor, Dept. of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology; Levi Watkins, Jr. Professor in Medical Education; Assistant Vice Chancellor for Multicultural Affairs; Special Assistant to the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs
School of Medicine profile

George.Hill@vanderbilt.edu

  • Pediatric Clinical Ethics
  • Primary Care Pediatrics
  • Pediatric Weight Management
John L. Tarpley
Professor of Surgery and Anesthesiology Emeritus, Department of Surgery, Section of Surgical Sciences; Program Director Emeritus, General Surgery Residency
School of Medicine profile

john.tarpley@vanderbilt.edu

  • Mosquito immunology and physiology
  • Host-parasite interactions
Peter I. Buerhaus
Professor of Nursing, Montana State University College of Nursing; Director of the Center for Interdisciplinary Health Workforce Studies
School of Medicine profile

peter.buerhaus@montana.edu

  • Monitoring and analyzing trends in employment and earnings, and the age composition of the nurse and physician workforces
  • Developing, testing and refining measures of nurse-sensitive quality of care
Larry R. Churchill
Professor of Medicine; Ann Geddes Stahlman Chair in Medical Ethics
School of Medicine profile

larry.churchill@vanderbilt.edu

Douglas C. Heimburger
Associate Director for Education and Training, Vanderbilt Institute for Global Health; Professor of Medicine
School of Medicine profile

douglas.heimburger@vanderbilt.edu

Chandra Osborn
Assistant Professor
School of Medicine profile

chandra.osborn@vanderbilt.edu

  • Health Disparities
  • Health Literacy & Numeracy
  • Diabetes
  • Medication Adherence
  • Behavior Change
Sten H. Vermund
Vice President for Global Health; Director, Vanderbilt Institute for Global Health; Amos Christie Chair of Global Health; Professor of Pediatrics, Medicine, Preventive Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology
School of Medicine profile

globalhealth.info@vanderbilt.edu

  • Epidemiology
  • HIV/AIDS
  • HPV
  • Global Health
  • International Health
  • Infectious Disease
Melinda J. Beeuwkes Buntin
Professor and Chair, Department of Health Policy
School of Medicine profile

melinda.buntin@vanderbilt.edu

  • Health Economics, Health Care Spending, Medicare, Medicaid, Payment Reform, Insurance
Ellen W. Clayton
Professor of Pediatrics; Rosalind E. Franklin Professor of Genetics and Health Policy; Professor of Law; Craig-Weaver Chair in Pediatrics; Co-founder, Center for Biomedical Ethics and Society
School of Medicine profile

ellen.clayton@Vanderbilt.Edu

  • Intersection of law, medicine and public health
Elizabeth Heitman
Associate Professor of Medicine; Associate Professor of Anesthesiology
School of Medicine profile

elizabeth.heitman@vanderbilt.edu

Russell L. Rothman
Vice President for Population Health Research; Professor of Medicine; Professor of Pediatrics; Professor of Health Policy
School of Medicine profile

russell.rothman@vanderbilt.edu

  • Health Services Research
  • Diabetes and Obesity Management and Prevention
  • Health Behavior
  • Health Communication
Lynn S. Walker
Professor of Pediatrics; Director, Adolescent and Young Adult Health
School of Medicine profile

lynn.walker@vanderbilt.edu

  • Research Emphasis
  • Chronic pain in adolescents

School of Nursing

Carol A. Etherington
Associate Director of Community Health Initiatives, Vanderbilt Institute for Global Health; Associate Professor of Nursing Emerita
School of Medicine profile

carol.etherington@vanderbilt.edu

  • Teaches medical, nursing and interdisciplinary groups of graduate students in community health, global health and caring for victims of violence
Melanie Lutenbacher
Associate Professor of Nursing and Medicine (General Pediatrics)
School of Nuraing profile

melanie.lutenbacher@vanderbilt.edu

  • Community and home-based interventions to prevent or reduce known risks associated with preterm births, at-risk parenting, and a rapid repeat pregnancy
  • Family-centered systems of care for high-risk families
  • Maternal psychosocial predictors of abusive or at-risk parenting.
Rolanda Johnson
Assistant Dean for Academics; Associate Professor
School of Nursing profile

rolanda.johnson@vanderbilt.edu

  • Health promotion of African-Americans
  • Black racial identity
  • Genetics & Obesity
Linda D. Norman
Valere Potter Menefee Professor in Nursing; Dean of Vanderbilt School of Nursing
School of Nursing profile

linda.norman@vanderbilt.edu

  • Quality improvement and program evaluation
Jana Lauderdale
Assistant Dean for Office of Diversity & Inclusion
School of Nursing profile

jana.lauderdale@vanderbilt.edu

  • Health disparities
  • Native American women’s health
  • Minority nursing students’ educational issues
Ken Wallston
Professor of Psychology; Joe B. Wyatt Distinguished University Professor
School of Nursing profile

ken.wallston@vanderbilt.edu

  • Psychometric measurement
  • Perceived control of health; health locus of control; perceived competence
  • Adaptation to chronic illness
  • Health literacy and numeracy; public health literacy

Tennessee Department of Health

Abelardo C. Moncayo
Senior Epidemiologist and State Medical Entomologist; Director of the Vector-Borne Disease Section, Tennessee Department of Health; Associate Clinical Professor, Department of Preventive Medicine, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
School of Medicine profile

abelardo.moncayo@vanderbilt.edu