Home » Uncategorized » CPT, OPT, & Academic Training Workshops

CPT, OPT, & Academic Training Workshops

September 23, 2016 - 12AM - 11:59PM

– Have you ever thought about working off campus or interning for a company in the United States?

– Did you know that it takes more than 90 days for an OPT application to be approved by the United States Customs and Immigration Services?

– Did you know that CPT employment counts all days including weekends, holidays, and travel outside the United States?

Attend the Curricular Practical Training (CPT) or Optional Practical Training (OPT) workshops and get the facts about how to apply for employment authorization. Questions such as ones listed above will be answered and information such as the example below you will learn by attending one of the OPT or CPT workshops this fall.  If you are an F-1 student, you have the option to apply for employment authorization to be used during or after your academic studies in the United States.

  • CPT and OPT are only for students who have a declared major in a degree-seeking program (bachelor’s, master’s, doctoral).
  • CPT is an academic experience which allows students to apply knowledge gained through coursework during their academic program in a work environment.
  • OPT is a 12-month employment authorization, related to a student’s field of study, that can be used during or after academic studies are complete.

Academic Training is for J-1 students who desire to gain work experience in their field of study.

If you have an interest to work off campus, please sign up for the following summer workshops. Attendance at a CPT and/or OPT or Academic Training workshop will now be required before applying for employment authorization. For those looking to begin OPT or CPT in the Fall 2017 semester, please plan to attend a workshop this summer. 

Spots are limited! Please RSVP on AnchorLink to guarantee your spot. 

CPT Workshops:

       **Sign in to AnchorLink to RSVP here.

Thurs, Oct 5, 2017
3:00 PM-4:00 PM
Sarratt 363

Mon, Oct 16, 2017
9:00 AM-10:00 AM
SLC – LL room 3

Fri, Oct 27, 2017
3:00 PM-4:00 PM
SLC – LL room 3

Tues, Nov 7, 2017
10:00 AM-11:00 AM
SLC – LL room 3

Fri, Nov 17, 2017
5:30 PM-6:30 PM
ISSS Lobby, SLC 109

Tues, Nov 28, 2017
10:00 AM-11:00 AM
Sarratt 363

Thurs, Dec 7, 2017
10:00 AM-11:00 AM
Sarratt 363

Wed, Dec 18, 2017
1:00 PM-2:00 PM
SLC – LL room 3

OPT Workshops:

        **Sign in to AnchorLink to RSVP here

Tues, Oct 10, 2017
5:30-7:00 PM
ISSS Lobby, SLC 109

Tues, Oct 17, 2017
9:30-11:00 AM
SLC – LL rooms 1&2

Mon, Oct 30, 2017
3:30-5:00 PM
SLC – LL rooms 1&2

Thurs, Nov 9 2017
4:00-5:30 PM
SLC – LL room 3

Mon, Nov 20, 2017
10:00-11:30 AM
SLC – LL room 3

Thurs, Nov 30, 2017
3:30-5:00 PM
SLC – LL room 3

Mon, Dec 11, 2017
5:30-7:00 PM
ISSS Lobby, SLC 109

Tues, Dec 19, 2017
10:00-11:30 AM
SLC – LL room 3

Academic Training Workshops:

Fri, Oct 27, 2017
10:00 AM-11:00 AM
SLC – LL room 3

Tues, Nov 14, 2017
4:00 PM-5:00 PM
SLC – LL room 3

Tues, Dec 5, 2017
9:30 AM-10:30 AM
SLC – LL room 3




Back Home   

Walk-In & Office Hours

Office Hours
Monday – Friday 8am – 5pm

Walk-In Hours
Monday – Friday 1:30pm-3:30pm

Appointments
To meet with an adviser outside of walk-in hours, please email isss@vanderbilt.edu to make appointments at least 24 hours in advance.

Contact Us

Phone: (615)322-2753
Fax: 615-343-7799
Email: isss@vanderbilt.edu

Quick Links

Recent News