Skip to main content

Radioactive Drug Research Committee

Current RDRC Committee Roster

Print Committee Roster: Radioactive Drug Research Committee

Vanderbilt Human Research Protection Program
Radioactive Drug Research Committee – Institutional Review Board
FDA Registration Number – RDRC013

The RDRC Committee meets the first Friday of every quarter at 10:00AM. Meeting locations are subject to change. Please call the VHRPP office to confirm meeting location (322-2918).

Effective – March 10, 2018

Chair, Eric T. Shinohara, MD Radiation Oncology
Vice-Chair, Gary Smith, MD Nuclear Medicine
Mary Ann Keenan, DMP Radiology and Radiological Sciences
Charles Manning, PhD Molecular Imaging
David Pickens, Ph.D. Radiology and Radiological Sciences


Bapsi Chakravarthy, M.D. Radiation Oncology
Dominique Delbeke, M.D., Ph.D. Nuclear Medicine
Marni Gardner, D.Ph. Nuclear Pharmacist
Chirayu Shah, M.D. Nuclear Medicine


Vanderbilt’s Radioactive Drug Research Committee (RDRC) is authorized by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to approve research projects involving the use of certain “non-approved” radioactive drugs for pre-Phase 1 research which would otherwise require approval from the FDA in the form of an Investigational New Drug (IND). Use the RDRC application form embedded in the IRB application and guidelines to submit proposals to the RDRC. If you need help in completing and RDRC application and/or estimating the radiation dose, contact the IRB to have the Radiation Dose Calculation Member of the RDRC assist you.

For an application form, a list of radiation doses, or examples of risk statements, please go to the IRB Forms page.