Skip to main content

Health Sciences Committee #1

Print Committee Roster: Health Sciences Committee 1

Vanderbilt Human Research Protection Program
Health Sciences Committee 1 – Institutional Review Board
OHRP Registration Identification – IRB00000475

The Health Sciences Committee 1 meets every Thursday of the month at 11:00AM. Meeting locations are subject to change. Please call the VHRPP office to confirm meeting location (322-2918).

Effective – October 19, 2017



Chair – Harvey Murff, MD, MPH Internal Medicine
Vice Chair – Evan Brittain, MD Cardiology
Casey Stupka, AS Law Enforcement, Community Member (NS)
Mistey Cook, BS Public Relations, Community Member (NS)
Shelia V. Kusnoor, Ph.D. Neuroscience/Health Knowledge Information
Saralyn Williams, MD Emergency Medicine, Toxicology
Michael O’Connor, MD Pediatric Pulmonology
Paul Brent Ferrell, MD Hematology/Oncology
William Grissom, PhD Biomedical Engineering
James Atkison, MD, PhD Pathology




Alexander Agthe, MD, PhD Neonatology
Robert Anderson, DNP Emergency Medicine/Pediatrics
Jennifer Bounds Homemaker, Community Member (NS)
Deepa Chandrasekaran, OD, MS Optometry
Elizabeth Davis, MD Medical Oncology
Manus Donahue, PhD Neurology
Stephany Duda, Ph.D Biomedical Informatics
Adam Esbenshade, M.D. Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
Candace Floyd Editor/Writer, Community Member (NS)
Zachary Fox, MSIS Library and Information Science
Katherine Gargulio, MSN Nursing, Pediatric Infectious Disease
William Grissom, PhD Biomedical Engineering
Brenton Harrison, BBA Insurance, Community Member (NS)
Jonathan Hiskey, Ph.D. Political Science
Benjamin Hornsby, PhD Hearing and Speech Sciences
Leigh Howard, M.D Pediatrics Infectious Diseases
Chris Hughes, MD Anesthesiology
Burl Johnson, B.A. Law Enforcement, Community Member (NS)
Lani A. Kajihara-Liehr, M.S.N., F.N.P. Pediatric Nursing
Mary E. Keebler, M.D. Cardiology/Cardiovascular Disease
David Kent, MD Otolaryngology
Taneya Koonce, MSLS, MPH Information Sciences/Public Health
Chris Lemons, PhD Special Education
Daniel J. Lenihan, M.D. Cardiovascular Medicine
Anna Lopez Homemaker
Sanjay Mohan, M.D. Hematology/Oncology
James A.S. Muldowney, M.D. Cardiovascular Medicine
Harvey J. Murff, M.D., MPH Internal Medicine
Jeremy Neal, PhD, CNM, RN Nursing
Olalekan Oluwole, M.D. Hematology/Oncology
G. Kyle Rybczyk, R.N.C., F.N.P. Infectious Diseases, Nursing
Megan M. Saylor, Ph.D. Psychology and Human Development
Cynthia Seifert, M.Div. Divinity, Community Member (NS)
David Schlundt, PhD Behavioral Medicine and Health
Megan Simmons, DNP Geriatric Mental Health, Nursing
Antony Sinkfield, M.Div Ministry, Community Member (NS)
Jason Slagel, Ph.D. Human Factors/Psychology
Kimberly Towers, B.S. Law Enforcement, Community Member (NS)
Pietro Valdastri, PhD Biomedical Engineering
Mary Kay Washington, M.D. Surgical Pathology/Oncology
Hendrik Weitkamp, M.D. Neonatology/Pediatric Infectious Disease
Annette Williams, MLIS Library and Information Sciences
Derek Williams, M.D. Pediatrics