Skip to main content


Standing Committees

2015/16 Committees

Academic Policies and Services 
To be concerned with new schools, new programs and new degrees. To consider policies regarding academic honors, leaves, grants, promotions, departmental and divisional chairmanships, programs abroad, the academic calendar, career planning and placement, Vanderbilt University Library, Information Services, the bookstore, and the University Press. 

Committee Members: 
Joyce Johnson, Chair, Medicine (2016)
Erin O'Hara O'Connor, Law (2017) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Brian Christman, Medicine (2017)
Betsy Kennedy, Nursing (2016)
David Wright, A&S (2016)
Tom Talbot, Medicine (2017)
Caglar Oskay, Eng (2017)
Donna Webb, A&S (2017)
Gayle Shay, Blair (2018)

Faculty Life
To be concerned with policies relating to wages and salaries, fringe benefits, management of investments, employment of non-academic personnel, faculty intellectual property including copyrights and patents, buildings and grounds, space, campus communications, traffic, parking, food services, and campus security.

Committee Members: 
Brian Heuser, chair, Peabody (2017)
Charlene Dewey, Medicine (2017) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Mel Zeigler, A&S (2016)
Stephanie Spottswood, Medicine (2016)
Mark Cannon, Peabody (2017)
Scott Pearson, Medicine (2017)
Fernando Segovia, Divinity (2018)
David Merryman, Engineering (2018)
Teresa Goddu, A&S (2018)
Ginny Shepherd, Medicine (ex officio)
Craig Anne Heflinger, Peabody  (ex officio)
Greg Barz, Blair  (ex officio)
Katherine Anderson, A&S  (ex officio)

Faculty Manual
To be concerned with all changes and proposed changes to the Faculty Manual and changes in other University policies that have a direct bearing on the Faculty Manual. To be concerned with compliance and regulatory changes from federal/state agencies and other regulatory bodies that require revisions to the Manual. To be concerned with policy issues arising within the Colleges and Schools at Vanderbilt that require clarification of the Manual, especially where congruence between the Schools and University is concerned. To ensure that any changes to the Manual are clearly identified, communicated, and archived annually. 

Committee Members:
Myrna Wooders, chair, A&S (2016)
Richard Willis, Owen (2016) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Benigno Trigo. A&S, (2018)
Geoffrey Fleming, Medicine (2018)
Erin O'Hara O'Connor, (ex officio, beginning October 2015)
E. Duco Jansen, Engineering (ex officio)
Becky Keck, Nursing (ex officio)
Amanda Rose, Law (ex officio, through October 2015)
Margaret Tarpley, Medicine (ex officio)

To be concerned with grievances arising under Part IV, Chapter 2, Section B of the Faculty Manual (those that arise from issues other than reappointment, tenure, and promotion). 

Committee Members:
Tom Christenbery, chair, Nursing (2017)
Richard Willis, Owen (2016) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Terry Maroney, Law (2016)
Graham Reside, Divinity, (2016)
Bill Walsh, Med (2017)
Richard Haglund, A&S (2017)
David Weintraub, A&S (2018)
Geri Reeves, Nursing (2018)

Senate Affairs 
To be concerned with all matters pertaining to the functioning of the Senate. Responsible for a continuing review of the Rules of the Faculty Senate, recommending new rules when appropriate, and assisting in the interpretation of existing rules. Considers proposed revisions of the Constitution of the Faculty Assembly and Faculty Senate when this duty is assigned by the Senate. 

Committee Members: 
Buddy Creech, Chair, Medicine (2016)
Ann Price, Chair, Medicine (2016)[Executive Committee Liaison]
Marc Hetherington, A&S (2016)
Clare McCabe, Engineering (2016)
Peter Martin, Medicine (2017)
Jonathan Schildcrout, Medicine (2018)
Chris Loss, Peabody (2016)
Leslie Hopkins, Nursing (2018)
Kevin Murphy, A&S (2018)

Strategic Planning and Academic Freedom Task Force
To be concerned with long-term strategic planning and governance issues of the university. To be concerned with policy regarding professional ethics, conscience, and academic freedom under Article II, Section 3e of the Senate Constitution.

Committee Members:
Holly McCammon, chair, A&S (2017)
Erin O'Hara O'Connor, Law (2017) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Eric Delpire, Medicine (2016)
John Greer, Medicine (2016)
Ray Friedman, Owen (2017)
Xenofon Koutsoukos, Eng. (2017)
Sam Chang, Medicine (2018)
Jennifer Green, Medicine (2018)
Michael Miga, Eng. (2018)

Student Life 
To be concerned with policies relating to student matters including residential colleges, rules and discipline, future composition of the student body, fraternities and sororities, intercollegiate athletics and club sports, intramurals, the Honor System, faculty-student relations, religious affairs, and the student health service.

Committee Members:
David Cliffel, chair, A&S (2017)
Rolanda Johnson, ex officio [Executive Committee Liaison]
Alyssa Hasty, Medicine (2016)
Michael Slayton, Blair (2016)
Edward Wright-Rios, A&S (2016)
Brian Bachmann, A&S (2017)
Tony Brown, A&S (2017)
Nicole McCoin, Medicine (2017)
Debbie Rowe, Peabody (2018)
Sarah Rohde, Medicine (2018)

Task Force on University Athletics 2015-2016

Task Force Members:
Karl Hackenbrack, chair, Owen
Paul Lim, Divinity, ex officio [Executive Committee Liaison] 
Claire Smrekar, Peabody (2018)
Lou Outlaw, A&S (2018)
Ann Price, Medicine (2016)
David Weintraub, College of Arts and Science (2018)
John Braxton, Peabody College
Catherine Fuchs, School of Medicine and PCC
Jasper Richardson, Director VOI Fitness Center
Eliza Clemens (Junior/Lacrosse), Peabody College
Nolan Cressler (Junior/Basketball), Peabody College
Kelsey Davis (Master/Soccer), Divinity School
Scott Limbocker (Ph.D./Baseball), College of Arts and Science

Greek Life Task Force (2013-15)

Task Force Members:
David Weintraub, Co-chair, Professor, A&S (Physics & Astronomy)
Gregory Melchor-Barz, Co-chair, Associate Professor, Blair; and Head of North House
Brooke Ackerly, Associate Professor, A&S (Political Science)
Donald Brady, Professor, Medicine & Past Senate Chair
John Braxton, Professor, Peabody
Roger Cone, Professor & Chair, Biomedical Science
Catherine Fuchs, Associate Professor, Medicine & Director of Psychological Counseling Center
Brian Heuser, Assistant Professor of the Practice, International Education Policy
Chalene Helmuth, Senior Lecturer, A&S (Spanish & Portuguese) and Head of Sutherland House
Paul Lim, Associate Professor, Divinity; Senate Chair-elect; and Head of Crawford House
William H. Robinson, Associate Professor, Engineering
Kyla Terhune, Assistant Professor, Medicine
Joe Wehby, Associate Professor, Peabody & Student Life committee liaison

Online Education Task Force (2013-15)

Task Force Members:
Ranga Ramanujam, Chair, Owen 
Nicole McCoin, Medicine (2017)
Bobby Bodenheimer, Associate Professor, Engineering
Tim Hanusa, Professor, A&S (Chemistry)
Bonnie Pilon, Professor, Nursing
Tyler Reimschisel, Assistant Professor, Medicine
Kevin Stack, Professor, Law
Douglas Clark, Associate Professor, Peabody
Volney Gay, Professor, Divinity
Jay Clayton, Professor, A&S (English)
Sal March, Professor, Owen
Doug Fisher, ex officio, Associate Professor, Engineering & Director of Institute for Digital Learning